Sorcerer claws suck for AoOs?

This statement implies that most other free actions (unless otherwise stated) aren't usable out of turn. So no normally using claws for AoOs, unless the DM is being nice.

Growing your claws is a free action, but using your claws to make an AoO isn't. That's the distinction I'm trying to draw, between "growing" versus "using".
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Well, right in the rules for speaking. (Duh. ;))

Here's the direct quote if you want (in the section on Free actions):

So yeah. No more waiting until your turn to say "ow" after being hit by that fireball or sneak attack! :p

This statement implies that most other free actions (unless otherwise stated) aren't usable out of turn. So no normally using claws for AoOs, unless the DM is being nice.

Well, there you go. "The exception proves the rule" in the original sense. Plus, you know, it says under free actions they are performed when you take another action.

Free Action: Free actions consume a very small amount of time and effort. You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally. However, there are reasonable limits on what you can really do for free, as decided by the GM.
 

Well, there you go. "The exception proves the rule" in the original sense. Plus, you know, it says under free actions they are performed when you take another action.
And the rules specifically provide for someone to use a free action when nor their turn, the Ready action. It takes a standard action to be able to use a free action out of turn (other than talking).:devil:

Ready
The ready action lets you prepare to take an action later, after your turn is over but before your next one has begun. Readying is a standard action. It does not provoke an attack of opportunity (though the action that you ready might do so).

Readying an Action: You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action.
 

Ummm...does it say somewhere that the claws go away at the end of your action? Because otherwise, one round would be from activating them the start of one turn until JUST before the start of your next round. So if you whip them out on a given round, they should be there for AoOs out of turn on that same round. Or am I missing something?

/logic
 

Ummm...does it say somewhere that the claws go away at the end of your action? Because otherwise, one round would be from activating them the start of one turn until JUST before the start of your next round. So if you whip them out on a given round, they should be there for AoOs out of turn on that same round. Or am I missing something?

/logic

I think that is correct, but of course, you would need to already have activated them, probably burning a round or two of use.
 

And the rules specifically provide for someone to use a free action when nor their turn, the Ready action. It takes a standard action to be able to use a free action out of turn (other than talking).:devil:

Ready
The ready action lets you prepare to take an action later, after your turn is over but before your next one has begun. Readying is a standard action. It does not provoke an attack of opportunity (though the action that you ready might do so).

Readying an Action: You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action.
So, then you could ready a free action to grow the claws with the trigger, "when someone would provoke an AoO from me if I were armed," and then grow the claws and take the AoO, couldn't you?
 

So, then you could ready a free action to grow the claws with the trigger, "when someone would provoke an AoO from me if I were armed," and then grow the claws and take the AoO, couldn't you?
oh yes, but that means using your standard action to ready that free action. Caster's standard actions tend to have a good deal of value until they are out of spells.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top