Special ability armor/weapon bonuses.

Wippit Guud

First Post
Nowhere that I can see does it say I can't take the same enhancement twice. Can you take something like Silent Moves twice, for a +20 bonus at +2 enchantment value?

Shadow Armor specifically says the bonus doesn't stack with other +hide stuff, so that I would rule you could only take once. But Silent (or Slick, or other +skill stuff) looks liek you can take multiple times.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Wippit Guud said:
Nowhere that I can see does it say I can't take the same enhancement twice. Can you take something like Silent Moves twice, for a +20 bonus at +2 enchantment value?

Shadow Armor specifically says the bonus doesn't stack with other +hide stuff, so that I would rule you could only take once. But Silent (or Slick, or other +skill stuff) looks liek you can take multiple times.

Off the top of my head, I don't think you can.
 

Wippit Guud said:
Nowhere that I can see does it say I can't take the same enhancement twice. Can you take something like Silent Moves twice, for a +20 bonus at +2 enchantment value?

Shadow Armor specifically says the bonus doesn't stack with other +hide stuff, so that I would rule you could only take once. But Silent (or Slick, or other +skill stuff) looks liek you can take multiple times.

From a spirit-of-the-rules standpoint, I'd say no, for the same reason you can't put flaming twice on a weapon.

From a letter-of-the-rules standpoint, I'd still say no, because the enchantments you mention give circumstance bonuses to the skill in question, and circumstance bonuses from the same circumstance don't stack. Well, you _could_ still get something like the silent enchantment twice, but it wouldn't do you any good.
 

since the bonus from shadow is a circumstance bonus, and cicumstance bonuses from the same source (your armor in this case) don't stack (pg 177 DMG)

Also, on table 8-6 and 8-7 (For Armor and shields page 180 DMG) and table 8-15 and 8-16 (For weapons) says "IF you roll a special ability twice, only one counts. If you roll two versions of the same special ability, use the better."

So no, you can't add the same ability twice.
 

Remove ads

Top