Specialist Wizard + Domain spells

Curugul

First Post
If a Specialist Wizard (Enchanter) with prohibited schools Necromancy and illusion gains access to say... The Auspician (Faiths and pantheons) prestige class. This prestige class requires 1 level of cleric (for the luck domain), but lets you up spellcasting in either class. So if you are for instance Wizard9/Cleric1/ausp 1, you gain access to the Fate domain. Two questions:

1) Does the fate domain apply to the spellcasting class you specify when you first enter the prc (aka, could it apply to Wizard). If so #2...

2) Am I capable of scribing Bestow Curse (domain spell, necromancy) into my spellbook, even though the school is prohibited by my wizard specialist choices?


Thanks a bunch,
Curugul

ps. Thanks for the swift response to my last thread, didn't want to reply to bump it since all was answered =-)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Curugul said:
If a Specialist Wizard (Enchanter) with prohibited schools Necromancy and illusion gains access to say... The Auspician (Faiths and pantheons) prestige class. This prestige class requires 1 level of cleric (for the luck domain), but lets you up spellcasting in either class. So if you are for instance Wizard9/Cleric1/ausp 1, you gain access to the Fate domain. Two questions:

1) Does the fate domain apply to the spellcasting class you specify when you first enter the prc (aka, could it apply to Wizard). If so #2...

2) Am I capable of scribing Bestow Curse (domain spell, necromancy) into my spellbook, even though the school is prohibited by my wizard specialist choices?

1) What does Fate domain do, again?

2) You can cast / use prohibited spells when you cast / use them from another class, but you'll never be capable of using Necromancy or Illusion spells as an Enchanter

AR
 

Fate...

1) What does Fate domain do, again?

Gives a special domain ability, and for an arcane caster you can scribe the spells from fate into your spellbook. This allows casters to get spells normally not on their lists (example: Holy Exorcist and Holy word). So the question is if this ability can allow a caster to cast a spell not even on their spell list, can it transcend specialist wizard restrictions (Necromancy banned, but gain this spell and thus can cast it from the domain?).


Still boggled,

Curugul
 

I'd prolly rule that the specialist restrictions apply regardless of the domain. This seems like it should not be an easy choice for a specialist (based on the prcs that add domains to arcane casters that I've seen in action, eg divine oracle).
 

What I'm sure of is that you can't cast a spell from your specialist wizard's prohibited school AS A specialist wizard. If, say, you are a Specialist Wizard with Evocation barred multiclassed with a Cleric from the Magic Missile domain (ie level 1 domain spell = Magic Missile), you could cast your Magic Missile as a Cleric, but not as a Specialist. Anyways, you can't scribe a cleric spell and write it in your spell book as a wizard spell, even if the spell is on both Spell list, since it's not of the correct type (Arcane vs Divine)

Likewise, Take a Conjurer1(barred school: Evocation)/Sorceror1. You can't have any Evocation spells in your spellbook, but as a Sorceror, you could know any Evocation spell that is on the Sorceror's spell list.

Hope this helps.

AR
 

When you have barred spells they are not on your spell list.

If you get a Prestige Domain, it adds spells to your spell list. And then, even if you had a barred school you could still cast those spells.

It's like how a Fighter can't cast magic - not like how a Paladin can't eat children. The Specialist Wizard doesn't lose his powers if he casts barred spells.

-Frank
 

Remove ads

Top