specialist wizard

Zorayas

First Post
if you are a specialist mage does one of you're two spell picks per level have to be of your specialty school?

also, can a sorcerer specialize?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Zorayas said:
if you are a specialist mage does one of you're two spell picks per level have to be of your specialty school?
Yes. from the SRD under School Specialization: "A specialist wizard can prepare one additional spell of her specialty school per spell level each day."

Zorayas said:
also, can a sorcerer specialize?
I don't think so. The SRD doesn't say a sorcerer can specialize, only wizards.
 


Steve Jung said:
"if you are a specialist mage does one of you're two spell picks per level have to be of your specialty school?"

Yes. from the SRD under School Specialization: "A specialist wizard can prepare one additional spell of her specialty school per spell level each day."

Actually, no.

The System Reference Document said:
Spellbooks: A wizard must study her spellbook each day to prepare her spells. She cannot prepare any spell not recorded in her spellbook, except for read magic, which all wizards can prepare from memory.

A wizard begins play with a spellbook containing all 0-level wizard spells (except those from her prohibited school or schools, if any; see School Specialization, below) plus three 1st-level spells of your choice. For each point of Intelligence bonus the wizard has, the spellbook holds one additional 1st-level spell of your choice.

At each new wizard level, she gains two new spells of any spell level or levels that she can cast (based on her new wizard level) for her spellbook. At any time, a wizard can also add spells found in other wizards’ spellbooks to her own.

He's asking about the two new spells that a wizard automatically gets at the gain of a level. Neither of the two new spells known are mandated to be the specialty school. They can be of any spell "that she can cast." Now, if a player lacks the foresight to possess ANY specialty spells in his repertoire, then he's out of luck with regards to those extra prepared slots - he's screwed himself! But those extra slots you can put any spell of the specialty school, of appropriate level or lower, in them.

And no, a sorcerer cannot specialize. By the SRD, it specifically mentions only Wizards as being able to specialize.
 
Last edited:

For what it's worth (i.e. not much here in the Rules forum), I've allowed Sorcerer specialization that gave the character in question one additional Known spell from his specialty school each time he gains access to a new level of spells. This caused no noticable balance issues.
 

Two quotes from the 3.5 PHB should clear this up....

Spells Gained at a New Level: ... Each time a character attains a new wizard level, she gains two spells of her choice to add to her spellbook. ... If she has chosen to specialize in a school of magic, one of the two free spells must be from her specialty school.

(p. 179)

Yes, one of the two selected spells must be from the specialty school.


School Specialization
... If desired, a wizard may specialize in one school of magic ...

(p. 57)

So no, a sorcerer cannot specialize.
 

nhl_1997 said:
Two quotes from the 3.5 PHB should clear this up....

Yes, one of the two selected spells must be from the specialty school.

Ahhh... it's in the Magic chapter!

I read the question, thought "Yes, of course..." ... and then I couldn't find any quote in the Wizard description to back it up!

I thought "Oh, it must have been a 3E rule changed in 3.5..." ... and I couldn't find it in the 3E Wizard description either!

I'm glad I wasn't imagining things :)

-Hyp.
 




Enchanted Trinkets Complete

Recent & Upcoming Releases

Remove ads

Top