Trouvere
Explorer
Do specialist wizards get a bonus 0th level spell?
This has been asked before a few years ago, and the consensus seemed to be yes.
Points in favour:
"The specialist can prepare one additional spell (of the school selected as a specialty) per spell level each day", and 0th is indeed a level.
Specialists take the penalty of being unable to cast cantrips of their prohibited schools, so why wouldn't they also get the bonus?
Points against:
Cantrips don't seem to be treated like 1-9th level spells, since no bonus cantrips are awarded for high casting stat.
Is there an official ruling? a general consensus?
This has been asked before a few years ago, and the consensus seemed to be yes.
Points in favour:
"The specialist can prepare one additional spell (of the school selected as a specialty) per spell level each day", and 0th is indeed a level.
Specialists take the penalty of being unable to cast cantrips of their prohibited schools, so why wouldn't they also get the bonus?
Points against:
Cantrips don't seem to be treated like 1-9th level spells, since no bonus cantrips are awarded for high casting stat.
Is there an official ruling? a general consensus?