To paraphrase, this spell allows the caster to create a mace comprised of force in his hand. The mace lasts 1 round per caster level. Upon a successful touch attack, the mace delivers 1d6 damage per caster level (more to undead). Furthermore, the creature hit by the mace must make a Fort save or be paralyzed for one turn. An additional capability of the mace is that it may be used by the wielder to absorb one spell, upon which is disappears.
Question 1: Does the target get a Fort save to negate or halve the damage? Is this in an errata? Allowing a touch attack to deliver 1d6/level damage, wherein the caster can just continue to swing until successful up to the spell's duration, seems pretty tough. Why wield anything other than the Mace? A 5th level caster would average 18 pts of damage and would hit much more often than not (since it's a touch attack). Even having to "waste" a round casting it still puts the cleric out on top.
Question 2: I assume it's a free action for the wielder to absorb a spell. Does he have the option of picking a spell to absorb, or will the first one that targets him be absorbed? What is the spell he wants to absorb is a Dispel Magic?
Question 3: Since the mace is magical (force), it negates all damage reduction, correct? Would DM's allow STR to modify its damage? I'd assume the damage would be comprised only from the spell's effect, no?
I apologize in advance if the above questions are answered somewhere official; I have been unable to locate anything.
Thanks!
RJ
P.S. Why doesn't Relics & Rituals list prices with their magical items? That's a key component and one which I have difficulty deriving. Not having that info makes the items somewhat worthless. Just my $.02.
Question 1: Does the target get a Fort save to negate or halve the damage? Is this in an errata? Allowing a touch attack to deliver 1d6/level damage, wherein the caster can just continue to swing until successful up to the spell's duration, seems pretty tough. Why wield anything other than the Mace? A 5th level caster would average 18 pts of damage and would hit much more often than not (since it's a touch attack). Even having to "waste" a round casting it still puts the cleric out on top.
Question 2: I assume it's a free action for the wielder to absorb a spell. Does he have the option of picking a spell to absorb, or will the first one that targets him be absorbed? What is the spell he wants to absorb is a Dispel Magic?
Question 3: Since the mace is magical (force), it negates all damage reduction, correct? Would DM's allow STR to modify its damage? I'd assume the damage would be comprised only from the spell's effect, no?
I apologize in advance if the above questions are answered somewhere official; I have been unable to locate anything.
Thanks!
RJ
P.S. Why doesn't Relics & Rituals list prices with their magical items? That's a key component and one which I have difficulty deriving. Not having that info makes the items somewhat worthless. Just my $.02.