Spell Components - Do You Need A Free Hand?

Ok, I remember seeing posts on this board stating that casters needed to have a free hand when casting spells that required a Somatic, Material or Focus component. Looking in the PHB though I couldn't find anything to back this up. The only thing that says you need a free hand is the Somatic component. The rules don't even state that you need to be holding the Material or Focus component!

Now from a common sense point of view you think that you would have to be holding the Material or Focus component when you cast the spell but D&D does have some strange rules. Does anyone know where I might find the rules about spell components in the PHB or DMG?

This was what I was able to find in the SRD:

SRD said:
Verbal (V)
A verbal component is a spoken incantation. To provide a verbal component, you must be able to speak in a strong voice. A silence spell or a gag spoils the incantation (and thus the spell). A spellcaster who has been deafened has a 20% chance to spoil any spell with a verbal component that he or she tries to cast.

Somatic (S)
A somatic component is a measured and precise movement of the hand. You must have at least one hand free to provide a somatic component.

Material (M)
A material component is one or more physical substances or objects that are annihilated by the spell energies in the casting process. Unless a cost is given for a material component, the cost is negligible. Don’t bother to keep track of material components with negligible cost. Assume you have all you need as long as you have your spell component pouch.

Focus (F)
A focus component is a prop of some sort. Unlike a material component, a focus is not consumed when the spell is cast and can be reused. As with material components, the cost for a focus is negligible unless a price is given. Assume that focus components of negligible cost are in your spell component pouch.

Divine Focus (DF)
A divine focus component is an item of spiritual significance. The divine focus for a cleric or a paladin is a holy symbol appropriate to the character’s faith.

If the Components line includes F/DF or M/DF, the arcane version of the spell has a focus component or a material component (the abbreviation before the slash) and the divine version has a divine focus component (the abbreviation after the slash).

This is mainly of interest to me because I have a Cleric PC in the party that uses a heavy shield and longsword. This means that he can't cast any spells with a somatic component whilst holding both the longsword and the shield. What about spells that have a material component though? I don't know if there are any spells that actually have a material component and no somatic component but it would be interesting to know for future reference.

Olaf the Stout
 

log in or register to remove this ad

A F or M component must be manipulated.

To cast a spell, you must be able to speak (if the spell has a verbal component), gesture (if it has a somatic component), and manipulate the material components or focus (if any). Additionally, you must concentrate to cast a spell.

If you're grappling, you explicitly must have it in hand.

You can attempt to cast a spell while grappling or even while pinned (see below), provided its casting time is no more than 1 standard action, it has no somatic component, and you have in hand any material components or focuses you might need.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
A F or M component must be manipulated.

To cast a spell, you must be able to speak (if the spell has a verbal component), gesture (if it has a somatic component), and manipulate the material components or focus (if any). Additionally, you must concentrate to cast a spell.

If you're grappling, you explicitly must have it in hand.

You can attempt to cast a spell while grappling or even while pinned (see below), provided its casting time is no more than 1 standard action, it has no somatic component, and you have in hand any material components or focuses you might need.

-Hyp.

Thanks Hypersmurf. Do you have a link or a page number for that?

Olaf the Stout
 

Olaf the Stout said:
Thanks Hypersmurf. Do you have a link or a page number for that?

The first is from the Magic Overview chapter of the PHB, under 'Choosing a Spell'.

The second is from Grappling in the Special Attacks section of the Combat chapter, under 'Cast a Spell'.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
The first is from the Magic Overview chapter of the PHB, under 'Choosing a Spell'.

The second is from Grappling in the Special Attacks section of the Combat chapter, under 'Cast a Spell'.

-Hyp.

Thanks

Olaf the Stout
 

Now comes the real question:

Since you need a free hand, are you going to start ruling that your party cleric can't cast his spells as long as his mace is in one hand and his light/heavy shield is in the other?
 

cmrscorpio said:
Now comes the real question:

Since you need a free hand, are you going to start ruling that your party cleric can't cast his spells as long as his mace is in one hand and his light/heavy shield is in the other?

That's exactly how you should rule. It's correct unless the cleric switches things around to get a free hand to cast.
 

The wizard, sensing the approaching goblin swarm, reached down into his component pouch & pulled out a pinch of fine ash and a feather. Casting the ash into the air, he drew the feather around the small cloud, reciting his words of power as arcane symbols flashed with the passing of feather in ash.

An example of Verbal, Somatic, and Material components.
 

cmrscorpio said:
Now comes the real question:

Since you need a free hand, are you going to start ruling that your party cleric can't cast his spells as long as his mace is in one hand and his light/heavy shield is in the other?


"Start" ruling? That's how it's always been. The cleric has a few options:

1. Drop the weapon. That's a free action. Not practical if flying, swimming, on a ledge or bridge, waterwalking, etc. Picking it up will provoke an AoO. Plus, your enemy might grab it/telekiness it. Plus, it's now an unattended object and more susceptible to area of effect spells.
2. If wearing a light shield, switch the weapon to your shield hand. Some DMs will make this a free action, some will make it a move action.
3. Loose the shield. This is a move action. It's easy to find historical references to shields that had straps, allowing the shield's weight to be borne across the shoulders. If your cleric has such a shield, you'll avoid the issues with dropping in option 1.
4. Don't carry a weapon until you need it for melee. This is the most practical option. Drawing a weapon is pretty easy (free action if done as part of a move and BAB is +1 or greater). Get Quickdraw and it's always free.

Thing is, the somatic restriction is a critical balancing factor. Don't ignore it.

-z
 

Remove ads

Top