Spellbooks & Sorcerers -- any use?

mooby

First Post
I remember in 2E, a wizard could cast a spell from a spellbook as a scroll. Does a wizards spellbooks have any use for a sorcerer?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I don't see why not. Sorcerer's can cast from scrolls. You'd have to look up the rules on casting from another spellbook, but I think it's possible (someone will correct me if I'm wrong). I know there are a lot of spellcraft checks involved. But I don't have those rules handy.
 


From what I've read on here (not sure as I have checked the rules), I don't think a spell from a spellbook = a scroll. A scroll is a spell completion item and a magical item. A spell in a spellbook is neither.

IceBear
 

IceBear said:
From what I've read on here (not sure as I have checked the rules), I don't think a spell from a spellbook = a scroll. A scroll is a spell completion item and a magical item. A spell in a spellbook is neither.

IceBear

If you have a collection of scrolls bound with bookbinding, does that make it a scrollbook? ;)
 

I do know that spellbooks can't be treated like scrolls. With scrolls, all you need is to have it on your spell list and be on the mark with caster level. Spellbooks are different. But I believe there are rules for wizards using other spellbooks. (You have to decipher the spell, etc.) I don't know if they allow you to cast directly from those spellbooks or not, though. So you may be right, IceBear. But there's something in the rules about using other spellbooks. I just don't have the details.
 

Well, spellbooks are not scrolls, since scrolls require exp AND materials to produce, and they are consumed after casting, the spellbok has the guidelines to casting a spell, but that doesn't make it possible to say it is a scroll, it doesn't have the materials spent already...

If you can cast a spell from a spellbook as if it is a scroll, it also means your spell will disappear from the book, that you have to provide the materials and pay an exp cost to inscribe the spell to the book... and at last, it also means that you can memorize a spell from a scroll, what seems to be against the rules... (you gotta learn it, write on the book -- thus loosing the scroll).

Anyway, I would love to have a spell cast from a book, but would make it very different from a scroll, with lot of time required and also the components needed. After all, if you book is a scrollbook which doesn't loose the spell, what is the point with the existence of sorcerers and scrolls?
 



Anyway, in my group we say a sorcerer can use a book or a scroll to learn a spell he has slot to, so it can be used, of course he may also gain some levels in wizard... what means he will quit sorcerer completely.
 

Remove ads

Top