Ok, so, the bad guy moved out of range this round or you don't want to chance the attack of opportunity, so you cast Harm and hold it for next round.
Then something happens, maybe the bad guy dies, or is crowded by your parties warriors.
How long can you hold that charge before it "dissapates" i.e. is lost? This came up in my high level game at least once and I just hand waved it, but in our low level game it came up twice and indeed the bad guy was knocked out before the cleric could connect with an inflict wounds spell.
I'm thinking of this house rule. You can hold a charge for as many rounds as your spellcasting stat's modifier. So a wizard with an INT of 18 casting Chill Touch could hold it for 4 rounds, starting after the round it was cast.
Or is there an official rule I'm missing somewhere?
Then something happens, maybe the bad guy dies, or is crowded by your parties warriors.
How long can you hold that charge before it "dissapates" i.e. is lost? This came up in my high level game at least once and I just hand waved it, but in our low level game it came up twice and indeed the bad guy was knocked out before the cleric could connect with an inflict wounds spell.
I'm thinking of this house rule. You can hold a charge for as many rounds as your spellcasting stat's modifier. So a wizard with an INT of 18 casting Chill Touch could hold it for 4 rounds, starting after the round it was cast.
Or is there an official rule I'm missing somewhere?
Last edited: