Spellcasting in the Suprise round.

Sithobi1 said:
You are only allowed a standard action during the surprise round, not a swift action and a standard action...

Restricted Activity: In some situations, you may be unable to take a full round’s worth of actions. In such cases, you are restricted to taking only a single standard action or a single move action (plus free actions as normal). You can’t take a full-round action (though you can start or complete a full-round action by using a standard action; see below).

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

swift action != free action, swift actions take a little longer than a free action, though not nearly as long as a move or standard action.
 

Sithobi1 said:
swift action != free action, swift actions take a little longer than a free action, though not nearly as long as a move or standard action.

Unfortunately you're wrong. A swift action follows all the same restrictions as a free action, with the exception that you may only perform one swift action in a turn. That's the only way in which the two differ.
 

Sithobi1 said:
swift action != free action, swift actions take a little longer than a free action, though not nearly as long as a move or standard action.

Swift actions didn't exist when the PHB rules on Restricted Activity were written.

But from the XPH:

Swift Action: A swift action consumes a very small amount of time, but represents a larger expenditure of effort and energy than a free action. You can perform one swift action per turn without affecting your ability to perform other actions. In that regard, a swift action is like a free action. However, you can perform only a single swift action per turn, regardless of what other actions you take. You can take a swift action any time you would normally be allowed to take a free action.

-Hyp.
 


Sithobi1 said:
It seems that you are correct; however, that is a HR anyway, and the DM would hopefully HR it so that that would not work... hopefully

Uh, why?

Or are you trying to say that someone with the Quick Draw feat can't draw a weapon during a surprise round?
 


Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Uh, why?

Or are you trying to say that someone with the Quick Draw feat can't draw a weapon during a surprise round?
This was in response to
Anax said:
The main problem I can think of that the standard + move action would cause is with the XPH's "hustle". Using hustle on the surprise round would allow a psion to cast a 1 round casting time power on the surprise round by beginning the casting in the normal standard action and completing in the bonus move action from Hustle.
since it is a HR anyway
 


I wasn't aware that swift actions could be used as free actions-I thought they were similar, but not the same, and it is not mentioned in the rules for surprise round. Basically, I had the conception of a swift action wrong.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top