Spellfire wielder

Ten levels.

The character is 12th level, a 10d6 damage burst isn't out of the ordinary. Nor is healing 10d4+10 points of damage (or combinations thereof). The character *should* have a higher Con score, is capable of holding many many more spellfire levels (due to the PrC), but 10 places the character in no immediate danger as well as allowing some firepower/healing/both.

Anyhow, there ya go. It also is a possibility stemming from many of the other suggestions here, so just go with 10. :D
 

log in or register to remove this ad

You must ready an action to absorb spells, so you can not absorb your own spells unless you can take two actions at the same time (time stop perhaps, or maybe reactive counterspell as a free action)

You can ask a friend for a recharge, as "combat rounds" would be used for practice or mock combat. So the PCs may choose to enter combat rounds most any time they want. Because of this, there is no reason for a DM should force them to go through rolling initive, as it would be a pointless hassle.
 

Trellian said:
Hard to know what kind of personality he will have since he technically isn't "alive" yet.

Then ask him. He's a player, and he knows his character better than anyone else ever will, even a DM. Whether or not his character is "finalized" is irrelevant in regards to his character's actually personality.
 
Last edited:

Artoomis said:
FYI, technically, you can ONLY absorb spell levels in combat as it takes a readied action which can only happen in combat.

The rules do not prevent you from getting into combat with your friends, and nothing says combat has to involve the injury or death of a participant either.
 

Trellian said:
Anyway, he stocked up on cheap wands.. 12 50 charge Wand of Lights.. it'll soon be a lot levels stored!

Great, you've got your answer RIGHT THERE.

If he's planning on using inexpensive wands of Light repeatedly on himself to keep him charged up with spellfire all the time, you are dealing with a "Munchkin" Spellfire weilder. Big Time. This is even worse than the ones who have their friends charge them up using their unused spells at the end of the day.

Spellfire can be unbalancing when it is used this way, which is why I think the Spellfire ability should be a +1 ECL instead of a feat.

However, your campaign is starting out at level 12... and at high levels Spellfire isn't nearly as imbalancing as it is at lower levels. Therefore, you might not notice it that much.
 

Murrdox said:
Spellfire can be unbalancing when it is used this way, which is why I think the Spellfire ability should be a +1 ECL instead of a feat.

Man, you're more forgiving than I am. I increase or decrease the ECL modifier based upon the current Constitution score of the character. :D
 

Man, you're more forgiving than I am. I increase or decrease the ECL modifier based upon the current Constitution score of the character.

Fortunately my only dealings with Spellfire involved 2 PC's and 1 NPC.

The first PC who played around with spellfire had the Cleric in the party use all his leftover spells for the day on him to charge him up. This worked out fine except when the Cleric had to do a lot of healing. Then after the party got an extra Cure Light Wounds wand they really didn't need... he came up with the nifty idea of using THAT instead. :mad: Fortunately, a couple of sessions later, the campaign ended. ;)

The second PC who used spellfire was a wizard, and there wasn't any other spellcaster in the group. He would sometimes charge himself up with some of his own spells leftover for the day, but he rarely had any valid spells memorized he could use to charge himself, and only used his power to absorb against an enemy once or twice. He usually simply forgot he had that ability.

The NPC I control... and her appearence in combat has been severely limited... with good reason. :)
 

kreynolds said:


The rules do not prevent you from getting into combat with your friends, and nothing says combat has to involve the injury or death of a participant either.

Myabe so, but I wouln't allow it as being in violation of the intent. I would only allow this ability to work in real combat - not some trumped up thing designed soley for recharging. That way lies unbalanced munchkinland.

The major balancing factor in spellfire is the ability to absorb spell energy only with a readied action - I would not let his be diluted with silly cheesiness like "fighting" with your friends to get a recharge.
 

Anyway, with all the above in mind, I would start the character with zero stored spell levels, but allow him to "buy" some up to his con score at 500 gp (an arbitrary number) per spell level that would reduce his amount available for items. This is fair to me.

You'd have to decide what the "fair" amount.
 
Last edited:

Artoomis said:
Myabe so, but I wouln't allow it as being in violation of the intent.

The intent is that you can absorb magic. Anything else is adhoc.

Artoomis said:
I would only allow this ability to work in real combat - not some trumped up thing designed soley for recharging.

Is your standpoint then that the core rules governing combat are flawed because they allow friends to use them to their advantage, and the spellfire wielder feat is what reveals this advantage?

Artoomis said:
That way lies unbalanced munchkinland.

The major balancing factor in spellfire is the ability to absorb spell energy only with a readied action - I would not let his be diluted with silly cheesiness like "fighting" with your friends to get a recharge.

What I consider appropriate, balanced and fully within the rules, you label with derogatory terms, such as "munchkinland" and "silly cheesiness". Any particular reason you feel so strongly about this?
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top