Spellfire wielder


log in or register to remove this ad

Personally I would never ever allow a spellcaster to have that feat. If they did they'd never be able to cast their magic since the Spellfire would just suck up the energy of their memorized spells.
 

Yes, the FEAT seems overpowered for a single feat, but think of the opportunity cost of having to ready all those actions. This guy is also taking the PRC, which is NOT very strong. He could be casting some powerful Wizzie spells if he didnt specialize in spellfire.
 

andargor said:


If you think it's munchkiny, wait until he's a 5th level Spellfire Channeler and he spends 3,000 gp for three 1st level Pearls of Power. Caster level 17th, Drain Permanent Item ability nets him 3 x 8 spellfire levels per 24 hours. :)

EDIT: Drain Charged Item is a 1st level Spellfire Channeler ability

Andargor

I don't exactly understand how this works. Could you explain it?
 

Tidus4444 said:


I don't exactly understand how this works. Could you explain it?

Drain Charged Item allows a Spellfire Channeler to drain a charged item, such as a Wand, and transform one charge into one spellfire level to "recharge" himself/herself.

Drain Permanent Item allows a Spellfire Channeler to drain a magical item with a permanent effect (such as Boots of Speed or a Pearl of Power), and gain spellfire levels equal to half the Caster Level of the item. The item ceases to function for 24 hours. A Pearl of Power has a Caster Level of 17th, even for the first level type, so the Spellfire Channeler would gain 8 spellfire levels from draining one.

Andargor
 
Last edited:

As the Dm of a campaign with a Spellfire wielder I figured I would chime in...

1. No they can't absorb their own spells-as others have said-you can't ready a action-THEN take a seperate action.

2. Yes the Feat is overpowered-The CLASS isn't, we simply made it so you had to take feat but couldn't use the abilities until you took the first level of the class.

3. Of course they can absorb out of combat. Does this lead to any other party casters charging the spellfire wielder up at night? Of course , why wouldn't they. Nothing wrong with that, there also is nothing wrong with having the party have a nightime encounter AFTER they have dumped all the spells either.

4. Relating to #3- Where does it say you can only ready actions in combat?. People hiding in a Ambush are readying actions-and No initative has been rolled or anything. The description saying has to ready a action just means the Spellfire wielder can't do something else-then later in round get hit with a spell and absorb it as a reflex.
 

4. Relating to #3- Where does it say you can only ready actions in combat?.

Under "Adjudicating the Ready Action" in the DMG.

It contains all sorts of dire warnings about how allowing people to Ready outside of combat will cause the end of civilisation as we know it.

-Hyp.
 

Primarily because your players will maintain that they're ALWAYS readying an action when they move at normal speed.

Which means that your monsters should ALWAYS ready an action too.

Which means that you're back to "whoever wins initiative gets to take a partial action first" - or a normal surprise round with aware opponents.

I think the point is that the rules assume that you're always readying an action whenever you're aware of an opponent - allowing you to get some extra benefit from doing so is a bad idea.

My suggestion would be to break up spellfire into multiple feats - one to absorb (and expend charges to no effect), one to heal, one to harm. I think that about matches it's power level.
 

Remove ads

Top