Spring attack question

Azazu

First Post
Last night in a game that I DM, i ruled that a player of mine (Human Mnk 8) with the spring attack feat had to declare the use of the feat before using it. He had a tendency for moving in, attacking, then saying that he was springing and moving away. I thought that he should have to declare this before attacking. But upon looking i can find no mention to this in the rules.

Any clarification would be great thanks.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I tend to assume use of the feat is automatic. If he's going to do it all the time anyway, why require a declaration?
 


IIRC in 3e you do not have to declare your actions ahead of time. In fact, it would be perfectly legal for him to take a 5' step, make a single attack, then either continue with a full attack or spring attack away.

If an enemy gets annoyed with a spring attacking character, have them ready an attack at them.
 

Crothian said:
Well, if he doesn't declare he's using it before he attacks, he won't get the benefits for going into battle.

Remind me to get a 3x5" card, write I AM USING SPRING ATTACK on it, and bring it to the next game you DM. :)
 

hong said:


Remind me to get a 3x5" card, write I AM USING SPRING ATTACK on it, and bring it to the next game you DM. :)

I think you misunderstand. If he just runs in and attack and doesn't use Spring Attack, he might provoke an AoO. That's why it needs to be stated ahead of time. Now, if moving in to attack does not provike an AoO, then it doesn't matter when he makes the decides to use the feat.
 

Crothian said:


I think you misunderstand. If he just runs in and attack and doesn't use Spring Attack, he might provoke an AoO.

And I'm saying that this sort of thing is basic enough to be taken for granted. Because if a DM actually wanted me to state every round, round after round, that I was using Spring Attack, that's what I'd do: get a card, and hold it up instead of wasting my breath. Saves wear on the vocal cords.
 

hong said:


And I'm saying that this sort of thing is basic enough to be taken for granted. Because if a DM actually wanted me to state every round, round after round, that I was using Spring Attack, that's what I'd do: get a card, and hold it up instead of wasting my breath. Saves wear on the vocal cords.

If someone does use it round after round, then you're right it can be taken for granted. However, if it hasn't been used much it should be declared.
 


hong said:


Judging from the first post in this thread, I think that can be assumed. ;)

After rereading it, you are right. It does seem the person was using it round after round after round. Maybe you need to make the notecard for him :D
 

Remove ads

Top