Stacked Fear Effects, Duration, Expiration and More

SidusLupus

First Post
Imagine we have 4 creatures on an empty plane.

We have Bob, the pc. He's of whatever class (except a fear immune class), it doesn't really matter.

We have Antibob the big bad villain. He's a cleric (doesn't really matter but helps with spell selection.)

We have Antibob Minion1 which has intimidate as a class skill.

We have Minion2 which is also a spell caster with access to fear spells.


Minion1 is in combat with Bob and threatens his space. Minion2 and Antibob are somewhere out there, but close enough that they are in range to cast fear spells on Bob.

So this is what happens. Minion1 intimidates Bob, which causes him to be shaken for 1 round. Minion 2 casts cause fear on bob and he fails the save and is now panicked for 3 rounds. For kicks, Antibob casts scare on Bob and the duration will be 6 rounds.

(The Question is coming!) The next round, the intimidate wears off. Bob should still be panicked, either because of the rule that fear effects stack and he has the equivalent of two frightening effects running on him, or because the cumulative effect has put him into panicked mode.

Two rounds later, the cause fear wears off. A, Does Bob go from panicked to frightened (because the cumulative effects that cause him to be panicked are gone) or B, does he stay panicked for 3 more rounds because he's under the status of panicked.

If A, then Minion1 could intimidate him every round, causing Bob to fluctuate from frightened to panicked till the Scare wears off.

If B, then further fear effects wouldnt do anything to Bob except extend the duration if they last for more than 3 rounds, yes?

Situation with stacked fear effects came up and I ran it as B, but now I'm not to sure and think it might be A instead.

----------
Relavent passage from the SRD:

Fear effects are cumulative. A shaken character who is made shaken again becomes frightened, and a shaken character who is made frightened becomes panicked instead. A frightened character who is made shaken or frightened becomes panicked instead.
http://www.d20srd.org/srd/naturalSpecialAbilities.htm under Fear.
--------------

Who can give insight on this somewhat murky situation. =/
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Hmm, the rules seem to say that you become frightened instead of shaken or panicked instead of frightened. I would probably rule B- a fear effect slaps a given condition on you, and another fear effect then comes in and is modified by the existing condition. Then it applies for the duration of that fear effect.

Actually, I guess the question really depends on how you interpret how the fear effects work- are they applied and then they're there, or does the spell maintain them every round?
 

I would rule A. Fear effects stack, but if you remove one of the effects, then only the remaining fear effects are present to be stacked. Just as additional spell effects added mid-combat will increase a target's Fear level, so too will a reduction in such effects reduce the target's Fear level.

Spray a bit of water on someone, they're damp.
Spray a bit more, they're wet.
Hit them with a super-soaker, they're drenched.

But if you remove some of that water by whatever means, do they stay drenched? No, they're only wet again. Remove more of it and they're just damp.

Basically, fear effects are additive, and as such I see no reason why they wouldn't be subtractive as well.
 

Remove ads

Top