Stacking DR?

Dark Dragon

Explorer
Simple question: do different DRs stack? E.g., a paladin casts Blessing of Bahamut (gives DR 10/magic) and receives a Stoneskin (gives DR 10/adamantine) from his wizard buddy before fighting a Tyrannosaurus. Is his effective DR now DR 20/magic and adamantine?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Dark Dragon said:
Simple question: do different DRs stack? E.g., a paladin casts Blessing of Bahamut (gives DR 10/magic) and receives a Stoneskin (gives DR 10/adamantine) from his wizard buddy before fighting a Tyrannosaurus. Is his effective DR now DR 20/magic and adamantine?

DR doesn't stack, it overlaps. In your case, it would be the equivalent of DR 10/magic and adamantine while under stoneskin.

Andargor
 

You take the best applicable DR. If it was 15/silver and 5/magic, you'd take 15/silver. If the attacker had a nonmagical silver weapon, you'd use 5/magic.
 



brehobit said:
Do DRs of the same type stack?

If I understand what you're asking, it's, "If I have DR 10 / Adamantine, and DR 5 / Adamantine, do I end up with DR 15 / Adamantine?"

The answer is no. DR never, ever stacks. It overlaps.

The only case in which is does stack is when a specific class ability gives you DR X / -. For some of these classes, the total DR from each class stacks to determine the final.

For instance, a Barbarian 7 has DR 1 / -. If he took levels in a Prestige Class that also gave DR 1 / -, that DR might stack (and grant a total of DR 2 / -), depending on the way the PrC is written.
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
The only case in which is does stack is when a specific class ability gives you DR X / -. For some of these classes, the total DR from each class stacks to determine the final.

For instance, a Barbarian 7 has DR 1 / -. If he took levels in a Prestige Class that also gave DR 1 / -, that DR might stack (and grant a total of DR 2 / -), depending on the way the PrC is written.
Yeah. As a general rule: DR doesn't stack unless the ability says otherwise. If in doubt, they probably don't stack.
 

Jdvn1 said:
Yeah. As a general rule: DR doesn't stack unless the ability says otherwise. If in doubt, they probably don't stack.
I was looking for the rule a few days back. Anyone have a cite?

Thanks....
 

However, DR of the same type stacks. A barbarian wearing Adamantine armor adds the armor's DR to his DR. This might only happen with DR X/-, though.

- Kemrain the Squishy.
 


Remove ads

Top