Stacking Eladrin Boots and two Eladrin Rings of Passage

I know that bonuses of the same type do not stack but untyped bonuses do stack. These sound like untyped bonuses. However, I seem to recall a rule that bonuses from the same source do not stack (and two of the same ring seem like the same source) but I can't remember if or where I saw that. Did I make that up or can you point me at it?
Yes, I think this is an example of that rule. The two Rings should not stack. The bonuses are provided by the same game element (Eladrin Ring of Passage).
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Yes, I think this is an example of that rule. The two Rings should not stack. The bonuses are provided by the same game element (Eladrin Ring of Passage).

Its a pretty legitimate interpretation, yes. One can still argue about whether or not the thing is a "bonus" to start with, but that is really largely a semantic argument.
 

I didn't see the subquestion about 2 rings of passage.

No, 2 rings of passage won't stack. They're the same named game element, and they're providing bonuses.

But you can happily stack a ring of passage, eladrin armor, a mythandr longsword, and an
Incisive Dagger They're all different, they all provide bonuses to teleport length, and they stack.

 

Yes, I think this is an example of that rule. The two Rings should not stack. The bonuses are provided by the same game element (Eladrin Ring of Passage).

Per the RAW the additional squares of teleport are not a bonus. It would have to say something like "+2 item bonus to movement with all teleportation powers" or something.
 

Throw in an Incisive Dagger (AV2) and you can be hopping all over the field of battle. Perfect for Rogues (as an offhand weapon) and for arcane characters who use a dagger for an implement.
 

Throw in an Incisive Dagger (AV2) and you can be hopping all over the field of battle. Perfect for Rogues (as an offhand weapon) and for arcane characters who use a dagger for an implement.

The sidebar on that Incisive Dagger is really cool. I've always been tempted to stat the artifact version of it, and build a series of adventures based around it.
 


Per the RAW the additional squares of teleport are not a bonus. It would have to say something like "+2 item bonus to movement with all teleportation powers" or something.

I'm not sure that's strictly RAW either, as I can't see that "bonus" is defined in the rules, thus it resorts back to a common sense approach to the meaning.

While many "bonuses" are specifically called a "bonus" - for example, combat advantage gives a "+2 bonus to attack", I don't think it necessarily follows that if it read "get +2 to attack" or "add 2 to the attack roll" that it wouldn't be a bonus.

Regardless, its up to the DM to decide whether to let them stack or not... and even if he decides to go RAW, there is a fair bit of room to decide what IS RAW in this case.
 

Remove ads

Top