stonegod's Expedition to Castle Ravenloft: Ch. I [OOC]

James: As Danovich has disappeard down a hole, Janis can't really zap him again directly. Is she still going to try to regain lightning bolt? If so, then what?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


FYI: Casting the spell from Alacritous Cogitation requires a full round action, so Janis was able to move this round, but not cast.
 

*shrug* Details detail schmetails. :D

Spirit of the declaration achieved and all that - I'm not big on worrying about things like details most of the time. It's all good.
 

James Heard said:
*shrug* Details detail schmetails. :D

Spirit of the declaration achieved and all that - I'm not big on worrying about things like details most of the time. It's all good.
I didn't think so, but I like to make sure everyone knows why I do what I do.

On that line of discussion: Khensu could only move this round (pews take up double movement and it requires more than 20 to get to where he wanted) and Jarrith cannot extend w/o using the rod (they are use activated, not command word activated).

Otherwise, round 3 is up!
 

Stormwind is back from vacation, so I'll give 'em a chance to speak for Ashlyn before I do.

Drothgery The pews will probably be insufficient as an anchor, given their dilapidated state and the fact they are not mounted to the floor. What remains of the altar would work better.
 

stonegod said:
Stormwind is back from vacation, so I'll give 'em a chance to speak for Ashlyn before I do.

Drothgery The pews will probably be insufficient as an anchor, given their dilapidated state and the fact they are not mounted to the floor. What remains of the altar would work better.

Okay, then he'll try that instead.
 

stonegod said:
Jarrith cannot extend w/o using the rod (they are use activated, not command word activated)

Yeah, but they way it's written in the SRD says that it being Use-Activated means I just need to have it in my possession to "use" it. I said that whole bit about the wording just as flavor text.

As copied from the Hypertext SRD:

"Possession of a metamagic rod does not confer the associated feat on the owner, only the ability to use the given feat a specified number of times per day."

and from under "Use Activated":

"Unless stated otherwise, activating a use-activated magic item is either a standard action or not an action at all and does not provoke attacks of opportunity, unless the use involves performing an action that provokes an attack of opportunity in itself. If the use of the item takes time before a magical effect occurs, then use activation is a standard action. If the item’s activation is subsumed in its use and takes no extra time use activation is not an action at all."

By my reasoning... using a metamagic rod can't be a Standard Action, because casting the spell that the metamagic rod affects is a Standard Action. And I cannot make two Standard Actions in a single round (and I do not think the intention was for the character to spend 1 round activating the rod to affect a spell cast in a 2nd round). Thus, activating a metamagic rod in my mind is "not an action at all". I have the rod in my possession, I have the ability to use the metamagic feat 3 times a day.

The only other possible reasoning would be that I would have to have the rod out of my pack and in my hand to "use" it when casting a spell... but that can't be right either because doing that potentially removes the free hand needed to cast the spell in the first place.

That being said stonegod... if your ruling is that I have to actually have the rod out and in hand when trying to use the metamagic feat, then I want to remove it from my list and buy something else. I only got the Extend rod in the first place because the Grave Strike spell only lasts for a single round, which is pretty lame. And now if I have to lose my off-hand attack in order to make the spell last two rounds, then it isn't worth it anymore... I'll just go with the Lightbringer ability instead.

Let me know.
 

@stonegod: I have assumed that the square thing in the lower right corner of the lower right room a trapdoor. If it isn't then I'll revise Ashlyn's action for the round.
 

Stormwind said:
@stonegod: I have assumed that the square thing in the lower right corner of the lower right room a trapdoor. If it isn't then I'll revise Ashlyn's action for the round.
its a door, but not apparently easily opened.
 

Remove ads

Top