stonegod
Spawn of Khyber/LEB Judge
Here you see the issue w/ the rules. Does *using* a rod as part of a spell casting require it to be held or not? It is used in part of casting a spell, and most metamagic rod users (wizards, etc.) don't have anything else in their hands at the time (components aside). All other rods that are command activated need to be held. So, such rods need to be used in hand by my reasoning. I checked the SRD and the online FAQ and the Ask Wizard's thread before posting the turn, and the consensus seemed to be that rods needed to be in hand.DEFCON 1 said:The only other possible reasoning would be that I would have to have the rod out of my pack and in my hand to "use" it when casting a spell... but that can't be right either because doing that potentially removes the free hand needed to cast the spell in the first place.
Yes, this does not optimize dual weapon wielding cleric/rogues, but that is a corner case. I did not even remember you had the rod until you used it. Grave strike for 1 round can still be advantageous (more sneak attack at higher rogue levels than Penetrating strike for both attacks), but the rod is not useful for you into this situation.
We can discuss replacements for the rod after the combat. Hope that is clear.