Stormrage (complete divine)

Venport

First Post
I was checking the stomrage spell (because a player used it with out me knowing she was going to grrrr anyway) Ever other spell i hvae read says Spell resitance (yes or no) Save (yes or no) this one dose not say ither way. it dose say it take a ranged touch attack but dose it have a save or spell resitance? I don't expetc a save because of the ranged touch however it might have spell restatnace... can anyone help?

Edit: i am talking about the lightning bolt abiltiy it grants
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

I'm afraid I'm not familiar with the spell- could you post its stats?

In the Spell Description, for this lightning bolt ability, does it say "Lightning Bolt, as the spell"? If so, then that part allows spell resistance.

In general, is the character directly affecting somebody with the spell, or conjuring up something that affects the target? That usually determines whether there's spell resistance or not.
 

Since the spell is Personal with Target: You, it doesn't have entries for SR or saving throw. They should have been clearer in the text. Since the "bolts of lightning" require ranged touch attacks, I would give no saving throw but would require spell penetration to beat SR. That is just comparing it to other spells that do energy damage and require ranged touch attacks (like scorching ray).

p.s. I also checked the complete divine errata. No mention of this spell.
 

Brain said:
p.s. I also checked the complete divine errata. No mention of this spell.

That's one of the things that I hate about WotC. Not only do they produce books with power creeps and tons of errors, but when they DO fix the errors, they fix errors nobody knew about and completely overlook errors that everyone notices. I think they should change their name from "WotC" to "WtF". :p
 

i don't have the stats here with me i wish i did so i could post them... I do know that i grants abilty to fly (as spell) and an air shild and 1d6 per caster level of lightning damage (not as spell) you can split them up between targest as you wish each lighting bolt takes a standard action and a ranged touch attack. that's about all i remeber..


I also looked in the errata and i did not see anything
 

Looking at equivalent 8th level spells (polar ray for example), a ranged touch attack still has spell resistance, but no save. On the other hand, the spell has several effects which all happen simultaneously and are quite useful, so a saving throw might be required to make it more balanced for its level.

I'd personally rule it no saving throw and does have SR.
 



Brain said:
Since the spell is Personal with Target: You, it doesn't have entries for SR or saving throw.

"In general, whether spell resistance applies depends on what the spell does:

Targeted Spells: Spell resistance applies if the spell is targeted at the creature. Some individually targeted spells can be directed at several creatures simultaneously. In such cases, a creature’s spell resistance applies only to the portion of the spell actually targeted at that creature. If several different resistant creatures are subjected to such a spell, each checks its spell resistance separately.
"

The spell isn't targeted at the creature; it's targeted at 'You'. Since it's a targeted spell, and not targeted at the creature, SR does not apply.

-Hyp.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top