Re: Re: Stupid New Item Creation Rules
dcollins said:
Just want to reiterate that not a single word changed on the issue between the 3.0 and 3.5 DMG.
Perhaps, but the official stance has it seems.
dcollins said:
'Round and round it goes, and still each of the D&D designers to comment (Monte, Sean, Andy) state that caster level is variable, and yet none can ever answer what the official market price is to a caster-level-3 pearl of power (et. al.).
Um, I could answer this one. It costs the same as the CL 17 version. There is no power variable by level. What's the difference between a CL 3 Pearl of Power for Level 1 and a CL 17 Pearl of Power for Level 1? NOTHING. Sure, you can say "oh it affects dispel magic and saving throws for the item when unattended", but in fact, these differences are paltry and pretty meaningless.
Besides, why could a Level 17 spellcaster ever use a Pearl of Power for Level 1 spells? Dur . . . So I am inclined to believe that we are probably misinterpreting the written rules.
dcollins said:
Sean's last comment asserted that some unknown extra person added that rule to the 3.0 DMG after Monte let go of it, but that seems hard to understand given how it ties into the other requirements and pricing rules.
www.superdan.net/dndfaq2.html
I can say beyond a shadow of a doubt that pretty much everything in there is bunk. First off, some of the items with higher CL listings WOULD NEVER ME MADE BY CASTERS OF THAT LEVEL. For instance, why would a Level 7 caster create Bracers of Armor +1, when the prerequisites allow for +3? What is the point of needing double the bonus in level when the EARLIEST the CL would allow the item to be made would be at 3-1/2 times the minimal bonus?
In other words, there comes a time when common sense and logic must be used. The whole CL requirement myth defies ALL logic and common sense.
On top of that, now WotC HAS *officially* stated that CL is not a requirement, despite it not being fixed in the revised books. As I said before, this is the official ruling from WotC:
-- Can you clarify if Magic Item Caster Level's listed in the DMG are pre-requisites to creating these items???
They are not prerequisits. _They are the caster level at which the items are typically found. _This value can vary.
As you can see, this does blow the CL myth right out of the water. Why it's not yet in errata or the FAQ is beyond me. At any rate, it is official, so CL is NOT a requirement.