Sudden Stalagmite

I generally don't think spells are intended to be limited by environment unless they specifically call it out. It's magic. It does not need to, and in fact can not ever make sense.

That said, given that it does say "ground" in the description, I think you're well within your rights to make that call. But you probably should have allowed the druid to replace that memorized spell with another as the character would have known them limitations even if the player did not.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The spell definitely works. It is a conjuration spell; it creates the stone. It doesn't transmute or shape the ground into a spike.

In any case, if you were to rule otherwise I'd expect you to allow me to change the spell I had prepared. After all, I prepared it with the understanding it worked on any surface, and if I knew you were going to change the spell I wouldn't have taken it.
 
Last edited:


What's next? Creatures popping up out of nowhere with Conjuration [Calling] spells? Insanity!

In all seriousness, though, that is what Conjuration does. This spell creates a stalagmite. It doesn't shape the ground up into producing one using materials present. It works more akin to acid arrow than fabricate or stone shape. Using the flavor text to rule that "ground" is equivalent to "natural earth or stone" instead of "whatever the PCs are standing on" is, IMO, against the spirit of the spell and against the RAW.

Unlike the various summon spells, this spell requires at least some kind of hard surface to work with- and it repeatedly uses the word "ground." To read otherwise would let it work perfectly fine casting it in the air at a flying attacker.

Instead, critters more than 10' above the ground can't even be affected by this spell. Last time I checked, a 2nd story floor is more than 10' above the ground.

I guarantee you, anyone using this spell in my campaign, will know or come to learn that I take "ground" and other such language seriously. Casting it while fighting on a 20' deep glacier will be as ineffective as casting it in the situation the OP presented.
 

Dannyalcatraz said:
Unlike the various summon spells, this spell requires at least some kind of hard surface to work with- and it repeatedly uses the word "ground." To read otherwise would let it work perfectly fine casting it in the air at a flying attacker.

Nope, beacuse the spell specifically calls out that you can't cast it in the air. What is your basis of defining ground as "natural earth or stone" instead of "what people are standing on?" I see no reason to make this distinction when the spell makes none itself.

Instead, critters more than 10' above the ground can't even be affected by this spell. Last time I checked, a 2nd story floor is more than 10' above the ground.

Because its only 10' tall... It's like a range or any other statistical limitation that all spells have.
 

If it's a Transmutation spell, it doesn't work.

If it's a Conjuration spell, it works fine.

---

Which school it should belong to is up for grabs.
 

razor...sharp...stagmite...?

how does one get a razor sharp cone? bad adjectives make werky cry.

possibly needle sharp, or...very pointy?




As far as the ruling, it is conjuration-creation(earth) so you are creating earth out of nothing, so I don't like that argument. It's like saying you have to be standing in a fire to cast incindiary cloud.

The text that makes the call, for me, is "ground". Floor is not ground. And it stands to reason, other druid spells also require a natural environment, so it wouldn't work in/on a structure. I support your decision.
 

Dannyalcatraz said:
.I guarantee you, anyone using this spell in my campaign, will know or come to learn that I take "ground" and other such language seriously.
There are lots of references to the ground in D&D and almost universally it just means the solid surface people are standing on.

In the SRD about ability damage: "A creature with a 0 strength falls to the ground and is helpless." Does that mean he passes through the floor?

The rod of the python has to be thrown on the ground to work, does that mean it doesn't work inside?

Tanglefoot bags can stick you to the floor, does that mean it won't stick you to a sidewalk?

The skate psionic manifestation allows you to slide on the ground; does that mean you can't use it in a dungeon?

The sleet storm spell makes the ground icy...so I guess that doesn't work inside either. Or on a roof.

werk said:
The text that makes the call, for me, is "ground". Floor is not ground. And it stands to reason, other druid spells also require a natural environment, so it wouldn't work in/on a structure. I support your decision.
The spells that are limited to a certain environment, e.g. entangle, spike growth, and spike stones explicitly say they require conditions.

P.S. I think it's a pretty dumb spell, though. I think the "impale" mechanic is bad and possibly broken, since it relies on a strange escape artist check.
 
Last edited:

In response to Thirdwizard & lukelightning, I'd have to say that it IS an "Earth" spell, and a Druidic one at that- which changes the context. If you can show me another Druidic "Earth" spell that lets me conjure chunks of earth or stone out of things that aren't, I'm willing to relent slightly.

But as near as I can tell, Druidic control over things manufactured or altered by the hand of man is limited. They can heat or destroy metal things, but they can't really create them, or create things from them- especially relevant here because the floor in question was iron.
 

Wouldn't a ten foot tall cone of stone be enough to completely destroy most floors? (maybe not this one, but, yeah) So it creates all sorts of problems if you start plopping a giant rock wherever you point.

It grows up from the ground.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top