Summon Undead errata (official or not)?

Veldrane

First Post
The Summon Undead spells from Libris Mortis allow to summon skeletons or zombies of various sizes, depending on the spell level. Problem is, the skeletons and zombies listed in MM 3.5 and LM are vastly overpowered compared to creatures you can summon with Summon Monster or SNA, and even compared with the summoner himself. IE a 7th level wizard (CR7) could summon two Tyrannosaurus zombies, CR 8 each.
Is there an errata or a clarification out there (it's not in LM errata), even if not official? (IIRC someone suggested not to allow creatures with more HD than the summoner, or creatures with a CR higher than Summon Undead level)
Thanks in advance
 

log in or register to remove this ad

There is. These spells made their first 3.5 appearance in the Player's Guide to Faerûn; they were then errataed as follows (unfortunately, it wasn't corrected in Libris Mortis).

Page 114: Summon Undead I Spell
Add the following sentence to the spell description: “No
undead creature you summon can have more Hit Dice
than your caster level +1.”

(Edit) A little bit of trivia: the SU spells were reprinted from 3.0, but the writers didn't take into account that skeletons and zombies were changed from specific creatures divided only by size to templates.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top