Sundering a creature with reachs weapon

Drakeskull

First Post
If a charicter is being attacked by lets say a hill giant with a club and a high level fighter whats to sunder the hill giants club as he attacks as a readied action do you think that should be allowed? Or even attacking there paw as it swipes in as a readied attack.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The closest question to this in an FAQ is one on using touch spells in the 3E Main FAQ.

The relevant bit:

There is no set limit to how far away a spellcaster can be
when delivering a touch spell, but the basic requirement is
being able to reach into the space the creature occupies. For
example, a human occupies a 5-foot space. Thus, a foe must be
able to reach into that space to deliver a touch attack, even if a
piece of the human’s equipment (such as 50 feet of dangling
rope or a manufactured reach weapon) sticks out of the space.

A creature with natural reach is an exception to this rule—
you can use a touch spell against such a creature by touching
one of its natural reach weapons, even if its body is out of your
reach. Such a tactic might require some preparation, however.
If a creature can reach you with a natural weapon (such as a
bite, claw, or tentacle), you can ready an action to use a touch
spell against that natural weapon when it is used to make a
melee attack against you. Though casting a spell usually
requires a standard action, you can cast the spell and try to
touch the target as your readied action, so long as the spell’s
casting time is 1 action or less. (This is just like casting a spell
and making a touch attack as part of your regular action.) If the
spell has a longer casting time, you must first cast it and then
hold the charge until it can be delivered to pull off this
maneuver.


Extrapolating from this, both the scenarios you have proposed would be possible.

-Hyp.
 

I've always allowed the pcs to ready attacks on creatures with reach for 'when they attack and reach inot my square.' I don't see a problem with readying a sunder attack against the attacking weapon, either.
 

Remove ads

Top