WampusCat43
Explorer
I'm having to deal with this very issue, and I think Nymrohd's ruling makes the most sense. If you use that weapon 2-handed (for a bonus) you give up a defense bonus.
The question tho is this...
If the swordmage is getting +1 to damage....
.... big deal?
Ok. If it's not a big deal, then the player trying to get it should be perfectly happy to not get it. In fact, since it's so unimportant the sword-mage player would never even try to get it.![]()
By your logic a swordmage could never sheath his weapon because that would make him lose his warding until he completed a short rest with his weapon drawn the whole timeThis looks like if the warding is interrupted, that benefit goes away until you take a rest period (short or extended). So it matters not that changing from one to two and back are free actions, but the one hand warding is not MAINTAINED when you do so. So you are back at the +1 until you take a rest to re-establish your warding.
As I said, it's impossible to rule 'This is rules as intended' when, in fact, those whose intent determines the rules have said 'You can switch as a free action and get your +3 bonus.'