Take 10 - can you do it?

I recall reading somewhere that you cannot take 10 if there's a penalty of failure. So you can't take 10 trying to Disarm a trap, since it might spring if you fail by 5 or more points.

Am I right? Did I just dream this up?
 

log in or register to remove this ad




hammymchamham said:
You are right

That is false. From the SRD:

Taking 10: When the character is not in a rush and is not being threatened or distracted, the character may choose to take 10. Instead of rolling 1d20 for the skill check, calculate the character's result as if the character had rolled a 10.

You cannot take 10 if you are "threatened or distracted", but penalty for failure is not an issue.

(Psi)SeveredHead is probably thinking of the rule for taking 20:

Taking 20: When the character has plenty of time (generally 2 minutes for a skill that can normally be checked in 1 round, one full-round action, or one standard action), and when the skill being attempted carries no penalties for failure, the character can take 20.

.Ziggy
 



hammymchamham said:
wouldn't the possiblity of a trap exploding in your face be a threat?
No, that's a penalty for failure. A 'threat' in this instance means something from which you are in imminent danger, like an orc with an axe.

Consider the use of the Climb skill to scale a cliff. There's a penalty for failure-- i.e., falling down-- but you can still take 10 as long as you're not rushed and are not actively threatened.
 


Remove ads

Top