Targeting spells & concealment

AGGEMAM said:


No, you might think you were, but you were not.

Some spells have target(s), some spells have an effect, and finally some spells have an area.

Effect spells include rays and spreads.

Target spells must have line of sight. Period.

Ya see, I was just posting too quickly for my own good... sorrrrrrry!!! :p

I have noted elsewhere that spells such as magic missile (a target spell) require you to be able to see your opponent.

My point about ranged touch type spells following the normal rules for attacking invisible opponents is still correct however.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Here are some more questions about target spells:

Wizard1 has Mirror Image, Blur and Fly cast on himself, Wizard2 wants to target him with a Dispel magic in the hopes of dispeling all three spells.

Now from what I understand, the Blur spell(miss chance) has no effect versus the Dispel magic, Does the Mirror Image spell affect the targeting of the Dispel magic on Wizard1?

Does Wizard2 have to pick the right image(Wizard1 as opposed to one of the images of Wiz1)?

What happens if the Dispel Magic is targeted against one of the images?
 


Zarthon said:
Here are some more questions about target spells:

Wizard1 has Mirror Image, Blur and Fly cast on himself, Wizard2 wants to target him with a Dispel magic in the hopes of dispeling all three spells.

Now from what I understand, the Blur spell(miss chance) has no effect versus the Dispel magic, Does the Mirror Image spell affect the targeting of the Dispel magic on Wizard1?

Does Wizard2 have to pick the right image(Wizard1 as opposed to one of the images of Wiz1)?

What happens if the Dispel Magic is targeted against one of the images?

I'm not sure if there are any rules concerning this, but my take is that it is an illusion.

If a caster targets an illusion, well, he fails to target you. He only targets you if the caster picks you out of the images.

However, the illusion (i.e. image) will still get hit with the Dispel since the caster actually did target the spell (even though the Dispel was intended to target a creature) and did not damage the image per se. I would rule that if the Dispel works, it dispels the entire Mirror Image, but none of the other spells.

Others will probably rule that it only takes out one image (but this should not happen since it did not damage the image) or that it does nothing (since it was targeted for a creature instead of a spell). But, I think Mirror Image is intended to protect against targeted spells and hence should do that, but it should not be powerful enough to protect against Dispels completely. IMO.
 
Last edited:

The opposing wizard *would* have to pick the caster out of the images in order to have a chance of bringing all the spells down with one Dispel Magic. Otherwise, he will just be targeting the Mirror Image spell (and I do agree with KD, it should only take one Dispel to bring down all the images).
 

KarinsDad said:


I'm not sure if there are any rules concerning this, but my take is that it is an illusion.

If a caster targets an illusion, well, he fails to target you. He only targets you if the caster picks you out of the images.

However, the illusion (i.e. image) will still get hit with the Dispel since the caster actually did target the spell (even though the Dispel was intended to target a creature) and did not damage the image per se. I would rule that if the Dispel works, it dispels the entire Mirror Image, but none of the other spells.

Others will probably rule that it only takes out one image (but this should not happen since it did not damage the image) or that it does nothing (since it was targeted for a creature instead of a spell). But, I think Mirror Image is intended to protect against targeted spells and hence should do that, but it should not be powerful enough to protect against Dispels completely. IMO.

I agree with you on this KarinsDad, I would also rule that the Dispel Magic dispels the entire Mirror Image spell.

Do you think it would be fair/constant(?) to apply the same rule to other illusion/figment spells?

Example: Wizard1 casts Major Image and make three duplicate of himself, Wizard2 targets duplicate 1 with a Dispel Magic, succesfully makes the dispel check...The entire Major Image is now dispeled.
 
Last edited:

Zarthon said:

Do you think it would be fair/constant(?) to apply the same rule to other illusion/figment spells?

Example: Wizard1 casts Major Image and make three duplicate of himself, Wizard2 targets duplicate 1 with a Dispel Magic, succesfully makes the dispel check...The entire Major Image is now dispeled.

Well, you can only make one image with Major Image (one creature, object, etc.).

But yes, it is the entire single spell that is dispelled, not individual contents of that spell (for illusions that can contain multiple elements).
 

Remove ads

Top