Teleportation item question

actually i have a specific battle concept in my mind against two characters and i want to know if one of the characters is able to teleport twice.

suppose character A is near character B and attacks. character B uses an immediate action to move away. if character A is a swiftblade and then moves again near B and uses an other standard action to attack, is there any other possible way that B can gat away with it again?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Actually, there IS one way!

Blink Dog's teleporting, even though it's only once/round, never got updated to be a swift action, like most other 1/round free actions in core.

"Dimension Door (Su)
A blink dog can teleport, as dimension door (caster level 8th), once per round as a free action. The ability affects only the blink dog, which never appears within a solid object and can act immediately after teleporting."

Now, you can get the ability via Shapechange spell or the Metamorphosis psionic power + metamorphic transer feat. But IMO the easiest method is to be a druid and get the Exalted Wildshape feat. I know it's not an item, but at least it's a method of obtaining free action teleporting.
 

actually i have a specific battle concept in my mind against two characters and i want to know if one of the characters is able to teleport twice.

suppose character A is near character B and attacks. character B uses an immediate action to move away. if character A is a swiftblade and then moves again near B and uses an other standard action to attack, is there any other possible way that B can gat away with it again?

Ah. Well, a creature turning into a Blink Dog w/ its Su abilities, as noted above, could do so with an immediate action teleportation item or the Conjuror's Abrupt Jaunt. I think...

And again, immediate + readied still works for anyone.
 

Oh, also. The stance of alacrity (8th level DM stance, so this would be level 15+) in ToB lets you use one counter per round w/o consuming your immediate action. Swordsage has a number of counters that involve teleporting or moving in some way, so use two of those, or one of those + an item or Abrupt Jaunt for your second immediate action teleport.
 

Oh, also. The stance of alacrity (8th level DM stance, so this would be level 15+) in ToB lets you use one counter per round w/o consuming your immediate action. Swordsage has a number of counters that involve teleporting or moving in some way, so use two of those, or one of those + an item or Abrupt Jaunt for your second immediate action teleport.

This is the key. You need two immediate action teleports and either some way to gain two immediate actions (none that I know of) or some way for one of them not to count as an action (as per [MENTION=35909]StreamOfTheSky[/MENTION] ).

(Non-immediate) free actions can only be used during your own turn.
 


(Non-immediate) free actions can only be used during your own turn.
Not always true. If the free action explicitly says you can use it out of turn, you can, and there ARE examples of this.

One off the top of my head is Factotum's Cunning Defense to apply your Int mod to AC against an attack. It only benefits against one attack but could be used multiple times in a round. It is called a free action, not immediate (and the class uses immediate action for the 1/day "give death the middle finger" ability, so it's not like the writer was ignorant of immediate actions) and says it can be used out of turn...as it would have to be in order to work as described.
 

Not always true. If the free action explicitly says you can use it out of turn, you can, and there ARE examples of this.

One off the top of my head is Factotum's Cunning Defense to apply your Int mod to AC against an attack. It only benefits against one attack but could be used multiple times in a round. It is called a free action, not immediate (and the class uses immediate action for the 1/day "give death the middle finger" ability, so it's not like the writer was ignorant of immediate actions) and says it can be used out of turn...as it would have to be in order to work as described.

Yes, specific overrules general, but my point being "teleport as a free action" does nothing for the OP unless there is some special rule.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top