Three Questions

parinho7

First Post
Question 1:
If I am a specialized wizard and let's say my prohibited schools are illusion and necromancy and then I multiclass to a cleric, will I be able to cast cleric spell from illusion and necromancy schools?

Question 2:
Can an Incantatrix modify a spell with metamagic feats this way that the modified spell level exceed 9th?
Example:
I want to cast a Twin Empowered Maximized Fireball. This would modify the spell level to 13. Can I use the Metamagic Effect with a spellcraft DC of 57 to cast it?

Question 3:
If I have levels of Cleric/Wizard and I level up as a Mystic Theurge do I get new domain spells?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Question one: Yes

Question two: Is actually more than one question. And an often house-ruled one. Check with your DM. For instance, I never, ever, allow a character to obtain the ability through feats or class abilities to cast a spell of an effective level higher than what their character class dictates.

Secondly, I believe you can't twice empower a spell by the rules of 3.5. (Although some people will allow this as well, myself included)

Question three: Also been some controversy around this one. Some say no, others allow it. Personally, I allow Mystic Theurges their domain spells.
 

Question #1:

Yes. The restriction only applies to spells from wizard's list. The chracter has two distinct spell lists and 2 different sets of restrictions.

Look at it this way - cleric spells are cast as if a cleric and wizard spells as if a wizard. the 2 lists do not mix.

If a character was a bard/wizard - then he still has 2 two different spell lists and 2 different sets of restrictions. For instance he could cast Hideous Laughter as a 1st level bard spell (assuming he had chosen it) or as a 2nd level wizard spell. If cast as a bard spell (while wearing light armor) the PC suffers no ASF but if cast as a wizard he does.

Question #2: - don't know enough about this one

Question #3:

Yes.


Use the class descriptive text from the DMG and not the SRD (it is better and clearer in its intent).

For example, a 3rd-level cleric/3rd level wizard who takes a level in mystic theurge has the same access to spells as a 4th level cleric and a 4th level wizard. But he continues to turn undead as a 3rd-level cleric, and his wizard familiar won't gain any new abilities.

A cleric's domain spells are part of his spell list and for all intentional purposes are treated the same as other spells he knows, the restriction is how many domain spells he can memorize per day.
 

Question 1:
If I am a specialized wizard and let's say my prohibited schools are illusion and necromancy and then I multiclass to a cleric, will I be able to cast cleric spell from illusion and necromancy schools?

Yes.

On an unrelated note, if you take the magic domain, you can then activate magic spell trigger/completion items from the illusion/necromancy arcane schools as well. :)

Question 2:
Can an Incantatrix modify a spell with metamagic feats this way that the modified spell level exceed 9th?
Example: I want to cast a Twin Empowered Maximized Fireball. This would modify the spell level to 13. Can I use the Metamagic Effect with a spellcraft DC of 57 to cast it?

Yes. So a wiz7/incantatrix10 could persist shapechange if he can muster a high enough check. ;)

The only limitation is for sudden metamagic, where the final lv of the spell can't exceed 9 (as per the errata for player's guide to faerun).

Official D&D Updates

Question 3:
If I have levels of Cleric/Wizard and I level up as a Mystic Theurge do I get new domain spells?

I don't see why not.
 

Thanks for the answers. I have one more question based on one reply

Yes.

Yes. So a wiz7/incantatrix10 could persist shapechange if he can muster a high enough check. ;)

The only limitation is for sudden metamagic, where the final lv of the spell can't exceed 9 (as per the errata for player's guide to faerun).

Does this mean that i can Heighten a spell to infinite level?
 

Does this mean that i can Heighten a spell to infinite level?

For which one?

For the first, you would only be able to heighten a spell to as high a concentration check you can muster.

For the latter, I realized that my point was a little unclear. You must be capable of actually casting the final metamagicked spell. For example, you can only apply sudden metamagic: persistent spell to shapechange if you are able to cast 15th lv spells.

So in your case, you can only heighten the spell to the highest slot you can cast. It just doesn't use up the higher lv slot.:)
 


The improved spell capacity epic feats in the epic level handbook give you access to lv10+ slots. There aren't actually any spells higher than 9th lv, so those slots are good only for metamagicked spells. :)
 


Remove ads

Top