Throwing spears

Pickaxe

Explorer
As a two-handed weapon, a spear takes a full-round action to throw. Does this mean that one cannot get multiple ranged spear attacks per round from Rapid Shot or high BAB (plus Quickdraw, presumably)?

--Axe
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Pickaxe said:
As a two-handed weapon, a spear takes a full-round action to throw. Does this mean that one cannot get multiple ranged spear attacks per round from Rapid Shot or high BAB (plus Quickdraw, presumably)?

--Axe

He should be able to get the extra attack. The full-round action to throw the spear would be a full-attack action (since you are attacking with it). And when you take the full-attack action, you may get an extra attack from Rapid Shot. You'd need Quickdraw though to pull it off...
 

The relevant text has been rearranged a little between 3E and 3.5.

3E:
Two-Handed: If the weapon's size category is one step larger than a character's, then the weapon is two-handed for that character. A two-handed melee weapon can be used effectively in two hands, and when damage is dealt with it, add one and a half times the character's Strength bonus to damage (provided the character has a bonus).
Thrown weapons can only be thrown one-handed. A character can throw a thrown weapon with one hand even if it would be two-handed for you due to the character's size, but doing so counts as a full-round action because the weapon is bulkier and harder to handle than most thrown weapons. Add the character's Strength bonus to damage.


In 3E, throwing a shortspear (the equivalent of the 3.5 'spear') was a full round action, because it would be two-handed. This meant that you could never throw two shortspears in a round, because a full attack does not allow multiple full round actions.


3.5:
Thrown Weapons: Daggers, clubs, shortspears, spears, darts, javelins, throwing axes, light hammers, tridents, shuriken, and nets are thrown weapons. The wielder applies his or her Strength modifier to damage dealt by thrown weapons (except for splash weapons). It is possible to throw a weapon that isn’t designed to be thrown (that is, a melee weapon that doesn’t have a numeric entry in the Range Increment column on Table: Weapons), but a character who does so takes a –4 penalty on the attack roll. Throwing a light or one-handed weapon is a standard action, while throwing a two-handed weapon is a full-round action. Regardless of the type of weapon, such an attack scores a threat only on a natural roll of 20 and deals double damage on a critical hit. Such a weapon has a range increment of 10 feet.

It still states that throwing a two-handed weapon is a full-round action... but in 3.5, this rule falls in the middle of a bunch of rules about throwing weapons with no numeric entry in the Range Increment column.

In 3.5, you can throw a dagger, spear, or trident as a ranged attack. Three of them on a full attack with Rapid Shot and a BAB of +6. No problem. If the weapon has a range increment listed, it's not a standard action or full round action to throw it, it's just an attack.

You can throw a longsword as a standard action. This means you can make a move action as well, but you cannot throw two longswords with Rapid Shot; you don't use the full attack action to throw a longsword.

You can throw a scythe as a full round action. No move action, and no way to throw more than one.

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top