Time Stop and Sovereign Glue

For 1: since it's an unattended object, you can affect it, so it will tip, and it will fall. Probably won't do damage, but you have just buried him under quite a lot of iron, yes? For added fun, smear the glue on the wall.

For 2: it doesn't matter if it doesn't start adversely affecting the BBEG until TS ends. He'd still be unable to move or cast once it does. And since it's already on his skin I doubt he could do much against it.

Hmmm... y'know, this raises an interesting, though unrelated topic: grappling with sovereign glue.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Rkhet said:
For 1: since it's an unattended object, you can affect it, so it will tip, and it will fall. Probably won't do damage, but you have just buried him under quite a lot of iron, yes?

For 2: it doesn't matter if it doesn't start adversely affecting the BBEG until TS ends. He'd still be unable to move or cast once it does. And since it's already on his skin I doubt he could do much against it.

Hmmm... y'know, this raises an interesting, though unrelated topic: grappling with sovereign glue.

1. I suppose that seems OK, although I'm not going to officially commit to an answer without seriously reading the relevant rules. I will note that, were I the DM, that would be an exceptionally poor use of a valuable Time Stop round. Most of the creatures that you need Time Stop to fight are not necessarily going to be all that put off by the simple fact that you've dropped a lot of iron on them. Sure, you can crush lots of mooks, but who cares? Balance-wise, that therefore seems OK at a casual reading.

2. The adverse effect is that of being stuck. He therefore gets to move away after TS ends, just as he would if you had tossed the jar at him normally. The difference is, you would have a successful hit with the glue and not need to worry about AOOs, and you also don't need to use non-TS time to do it, thereby effectively giving him a free round.


Incidentally, be aware that the more powerful you make Time stop, the worse off the party is. TS being more powerful helps NPCs rock your group more than it helps you fight NPCs.
 

1. Not if you've just glued him onto the wall.

2. Ah, I suppose the question is: does the glue set while the time stop is active? Or does it set once it stops? If it sets while timestop is active, then essentially you have 'Paralyze, no save'. Otherwise it's just a normal application of glue, since the BBEG has an entire round to pull away.

It's an unattended item, and therefore can be affected. That means it must be able to change state, too.

See, this is why Spell Stowaway (Timestop) and Antimagic Field is important.

What do you think of my other idea, though? Have your Barbarian glue himself onto the BBE wizard. It's even better if he's somehow emanating Antimagic.
 
Last edited:

Rkhet said:
1. Not if you've just glued him onto the wall.

2. Ah, I suppose the question is: does the glue set while the time stop is active? Or does it set once it stops? If it sets while timestop is active, then essentially you have 'Paralyze, no save'. Otherwise it's just a normal application of glue, since the BBEG has an entire round to pull away.

It's an unattended item, and therefore can be affected. That means it must be able to change state, too.

See, this is why Spell Stowaway (Timestop) and Antimagic Field is important.

1. And this is why I hesitated to commit to a definitive answer.

2. It sets after. Did you see my quote when I asserted that? The application of glue would constitute an attack under normal circumstances, and it is, as you yourself have stated, equivalent to a paralysis with no save. If you want to mess with someone using Time Stop, just take the ground out from under them with a Polymorph Any Object or something; don't use glue, because glue must affect them in order to bind them to something.

other creatures are invulnerable to your attacks and spells; you cannot target such creatures with any attack or spell. A spell that affects an area and has a duration longer than the remaining duration of the time stop have their normal effects on other creatures once the time stop ends.

They are not "an unattended object" and neither is their weapon, or whatever you want to apply glue to.
 

Rkhet said:
What do you think of my other idea, though? Have your Barbarian glue himself onto the BBE wizard. It's even better if he's somehow emanating Antimagic.

I think that even a casual reading of the rules you quoted above will lead you to realize that someone cannot be under the influence of Time Stop and enter an Antimagic field.
 

Why would it set after? The rule states that you can manipulate unattended items. That implies that unattended items are unaffected by the spell - because otherwise, you won't be able to move or breath because the air won't budge.
 

Rkhet said:
1. Not if you've just glued him onto the wall.

2. Ah, I suppose the question is: does the glue set while the time stop is active? Or does it set once it stops? If it sets while timestop is active, then essentially you have 'Paralyze, no save'. Otherwise it's just a normal application of glue, since the BBEG has an entire round to pull away.

It's an unattended item, and therefore can be affected. That means it must be able to change state, too.

See, this is why Spell Stowaway (Timestop) and Antimagic Field is important.

What do you think of my other idea, though? Have your Barbarian glue himself onto the BBE wizard. It's even better if he's somehow emanating Antimagic.

Right, you can move the glue all over if you like, but it won't set against a person or an attended object until TS is over.

And Spell Stowaway (Timestop) is the only Spell Stowaway feat I've seen taken in a real epic game.
 

moritheil said:
I think that even a casual reading of the rules you quoted above will lead you to realize that someone cannot be under the influence of Time Stop and enter an Antimagic field.

No, no, that's a different idea. This one doesn't involve Time Stop at all. Just a sticky barbarian.
 

the Lorax said:
Right, you can move the glue all over if you like, but it won't set against a person or an attended object until TS is over.

And Spell Stowaway (Timestop) is the only Spell Stowaway feat I've seen taken in a real epic game.

Why? The glue is unattended. It behaves normally. And normal behaviour is for it to set in one round.
 

Rkhet said:
Why? The glue is unattended. It behaves normally. And normal behaviour is for it to set in one round.

But the guy is unaffected, because it specifically says so. So technically, the glue is attached at the "other end" to whatever you're gluing him to (presuming it's unattended), but at his end, it has yet to act on him.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top