Touch attack spells & holding the charge

Hurtoc

First Post
Hello, I just wanted to make sure I understand soemthing here about touch spells.

In the player's handbook, in the Magic chapter under "Touch attack spells and holding the charge," it indicates that a spellcaster can keep trying touch attacks round after round if the spell is not discharged in the round it is cast. For Shocking Grasp, for example, does this mean that if the touch attack roll in the round the spell was cast misses, the spellcaster can keep trying to hit each round with that original spell effect until successful? (Barring something like going unconscious or casting another spell?)

I thought some of the language in the PHB was ambiguous, so I just wanted to clear this up.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad



On a related note (no hijacking intended), say you're playing a wiz/monk. You cast Chill Touch (say your wiz level is 3, so 3 touches from CT). Then you take a full round action to flurry unarmed on the nasty monster in front of you, and you hit him more than once. Does the creature also get Chill Touched on each hit in that round (up to 3 in this case), or just the first?
 

Each hit.

Note:

1. You must now score a regular hit, rather than a touch attack, in order to set off the spell (some DMs rule that a to hit roll sufficient to Touch sets off the spell, but does no extra damage)

2. You do unarmed strike damage in addition to Chill Touch damage

3. If you score a critical hit, it only affects the unarmed strike, and not the spell
 

Remove ads

Top