Infiniti2000 said:
Before you go there, you need to stop saying "any other". Why is it that when I cast disintegrate, I'm making an unarmed attack?
Um... because the rules say you are? They specifically state it is an "armed" unarmed attack.
Now it might not be an "unarmed strike" - another type of unarmed attack.
Note that damage-increasing effects for unarmed attacks won't apply unless you want to actually make an unarmed strike that causes damage in and of itself - in which case you strike against the normal AC, not the Touch AC.
Thus:
1. Anything that improves an unarmed attack's attack roll will also improve the touch attacks attack roll (it's the same roll).
2. It arguable (some agree, some don't) that things that improve an unarmed strike's attack roll apply to a touch attack. I take no position on that here, I just bring it up. It may well be true - but of course, only if you do not do damage from the unarmed strike.
3. For natural attacks, all bonuses to the attack roll will apply if the touch attack is made with a natural weapon. The natural weapon will do damage only if the attack roll is made against the regular AC vs. the Touch AC, though.
If anyone has an actual source stating this is not so, I'd like to see it. I admit I could have missed something, but so far no one has pointed anything out.
KarinsDad said:
...A touch spell (or attack) is neither an unarmed strike, nor a natural weapon. Hence, feats and abilities that enhance an unarmed strike or a natural weapon do not apply to touch attacks.
They are two different game mechanics. Just because they are both "unarmed attacks" is irrelevant.
I have seen nothing in the rules that makes a "touch attack" anythind other than an unarmed attack that does not prvoke an AoO and is rolled against the Touch AC of the opponent.
All the above assumes we are talking about a touch attack used in the casting of a range "touch" spell.
The analysis is slightly different if it's a "ray" or one of the special situations (like trip) that use a touch attack with a weapon. It's basically the same, though.