evilbob
Adventurer
You're right: Touch of Golden Ice is actually too good, in my opinion. It's one of the best feats ever written. Not only does it do massive dex damage to any evil creature - including even creatures that are normally immune to such damage, like undead (which it actually does extra damage against) - but it is also a free "detect evil" spell, since you don't have to even think about using it for it to work.mcgeedis said:All good points. The main reason why I am asking is that out of the many things that I have read, it seems that Touch of Golden Ice is one of the best feats from BoED. I want to make sure I understand it's full potential.
The only drawback to the feat is the low, static fort save - DC 14. However, there are lots of drawbacks inherent to playing an exalted character that are supposed to offset the gain of this feat, but I think most folks either seem to forget/ignore them, or they aren't really enforced.
Personally, I found this feat to be a nightmare for a DM, because it causes an extra roll just about every single time the character connects - and that can really slow down a game. It's especially painful once the characters get to higher levels, and a DC 14 fort save is only a 5% chance on most creatures anyway (natural 1 only), but you're still rolling. And it creates sticky situations that the rules don't really cover, like what happens to an ability-damage-immune creature that has ability damage?
Overall, the feat can be balanced, but it is up to the DM to really enforce the morality involved with playing a character with this feat. It's a power-gamer's dream, but it really shouldn't be used that way. Also, note that BoED is actually 3.0 - another reason why the rules make no sense (increased damaged based on the target's CHA? What the hell?), and including them in a game should throw up massive "caution" flags. (I've allowed it before, but I find it's best heavily house-ruled to contain the "broken-ness.")
I would rule no. The "touch" of Golden Ice requires you to "touch with your bare hand, fist, or natural weapon" and not just use a "touch spell." Another character delivering a "touch spell" through their "hand, fist, or natural weapon" could use it, however.Quick question, would a Duskblade with Touch of Golden Ice be able to use that ability as part of a melee attack through his sword, using the Duskblade ability to cast any spell he knows with a range of touch through his sword?