Traps and Actions: How Long Does a Save Take?

Justinian

First Post
A question came up today involving a pit trap and a reflex save. The character triggered a pit trap and made his Reflex save to avoid falling in. The DM ruled that the character's turn ended after triggering the trap and leaping back to the pit edge to avoid falling in.

This caused a great deal of discussion about the time required to trigger a trap and make a save. I searched the D&D FAQ without success (although it is late at night) and am now asking for a general opinion on the following.

If a character triggers a trap, does it:
a) End his turn.
b) End his turn only on a successful Reflex save that forces him to move.
c) End his turn only on a successful Reflex save that forces him to move a greater amount than his normal move for one action.
d) End his turn only on a failed Reflex save.
e) Never end his turn.
f) Other, which has not occurred to me.

This is mostly about pit traps and other Reflex-inducers, of course, but if there is a general ruling, that would be good to know as well.

If anyone can point to an official ruling on this, that would be great.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Saves are non actions. The're not even free actions, they simply don't require any time at all as D&D describes it.

The movment (leaping back) is really the problem. As a DM I'd just count that towards the PCs movement for the round, myself. Some may not, the rules are generaly up in the air about this sort of thing (blade barrier, wall of iron) and open to the DM's judgement.
 

The save is not an aciton, and it does not count against your move for the round. For some odd reason you are able to avoid falling in a 100 foot radius pit without it effecting your movement for hte round. I know it does not make sense, but that is the way it is spelled out.
 

Interesting.

I know that I ruled once when Fireball was cast onto the occupants of a rowing boat that a Reflex save meant that the PC's had dived over board to avoid the damage.

This led to one heavily armoured non swimming Fighter just stoically took the spell to the chin.
 

That is the problem with minor cracks in the structre of the system. With not explaining exactly how a rogue, or anybody, for that fact is able to avoid the overwhelming volley of fire from a Fireball, for instance, leads to characters possibly dying from a DMs judgement call on the situation.

Don't get me wrong I think for roleplay your explaination of how the characters avoided the fireball was pretty dran good, but the flaw in it was that the fully armored grunt-thumper is going to drown now. I would have just dealt with some singed hair instead of drowning. Heck, they say that is one of the worst ways to die.

I currently have not figured out how to adjust for the lack of explaination on the subject. So, I just go with what they have in the book. Even though it is a bit off kilter.
 

He later did leap from the boat to avoid another such spell and sank like a stone. He was under the effects of a water breathing spell by this point. A Cleric was able to catch up with him and cast a Freedom of Movement spell upon him as he sank, so everything was fine.
 

dkilgo said:
With not explaining exactly how a rogue, or anybody, for that fact is able to avoid the overwhelming volley of fire from a Fireball, for instance, leads to characters possibly dying from a DMs judgement call on the situation.

Then the problem is with considering the effects of a fireball to be an "overwhelming volley of fire," which is not a characterization suggested by the rules. Clearly, since it is possible to dodge the fire without ill effects, it cannot be an "overwhelming volley."
 

Remove ads

Top