Trouble running encounter in H2

DGG

First Post
I am currently running H2: Thunderspire Labyrinth and I am having a hard time trying to rationalize how the Fighter’s “Combat Superiority” works against a Bronze Warder’s “Rampage” power

Rampage(standard; recharge 5,6)
The bronze warder can move 3 squares, and all smaller creatures whose space the warder enters are pushed 1 and knocked prone. After moving, the bronze warder can use axe sweep.

Combat Superiority
You gain a bonus to opportunity attacks equal to your Wisdom modifier. An enemy struck by your opportunity attack stops moving, if a move provoked the attack. If it still has actions remaining, it can use them to resume moving.

First of all does the Bronze Warder’s Rampage provoke an attack of opportunity if it happens to be leaving a threatened area? If so, then should the Fighter hit with the OA, does that stop the Bronze Warden’s Rampage altogether? Reading the rules as is, it would seem that is the case, but then I got to thinking; Rampage is a standard action, not a move action. The Bronze warder could, try to use a move action, trigger the Fighter’s combat superiority and should the fighter miss, then Bronze warder moves and then rampages. Should the fighter hit, no biggie, the Bronze warder stops its movement and then uses its Rampage anyway.

Thoughts?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

First of all does the Bronze Warder’s Rampage provoke an attack of opportunity if it happens to be leaving a threatened area?

Yes. Rampage causes the warder to move, not shift. Moving provokes OAs.

If so, then should the Fighter hit with the OA, does that stop the Bronze Warden’s Rampage altogether?

Yes, it stops the rampage cold, because the warder can no longer move without expending an action.

Reading the rules as is, it would seem that is the case, but then I got to thinking; Rampage is a standard action, not a move action. The Bronze warder could, try to use a move action, trigger the Fighter’s combat superiority and should the fighter miss, then Bronze warder moves and then rampages. Should the fighter hit, no biggie, the Bronze warder stops its movement and then uses its Rampage anyway.

Yes, the warder can do this--it's no different than shifting and then moving to withdraw from an enemy. Bear in mind, though, that the fighter is under no obligation take the OA provoked when the warder moves, if he thinks he's better off holding and taking the OA against a later action in the warder's turn. He could also ready an action to follow the warder if he suspects it's going to try this stunt.
 

First of all does the Bronze Warder’s Rampage provoke an attack of opportunity if it happens to be leaving a threatened area?
Yes.

If so, then should the Fighter hit with the OA, does that stop the Bronze Warden’s Rampage altogether?
It stops the movement portion of the Rampage.

Should the fighter hit, no biggie, the Bronze warder stops its movement and then uses its Rampage anyway.
Yes. So, he might not make it as far as he would have liked, but still makes his axe sweep attack.

-O
 

Remove ads

Top