Truename's DM commentary on Scouring of Gate Pass

Truename

First Post
SPOILERS ahoy! (And players in my Portland game, stay out!)

My players and I just started playing WotBS 4e last week and I'm already enjoying it a lot. I've liked Durn's and others' reports of their experiences, so I thought I'd share mine as well. I intend to focus more on what's worked well and not worked so well from the DM's perspective.

The characters, along with their DMG p.8 archetypes:

Cwndydd (SOON-duth), an Eladrin Hybrid Swordmage/Paladin. Her player enjoys system mastery and creating optimized characters.
Keothi, a Goliath Warden. I'm pretty sure her player is a Watcher.
Aspetra, a Deva Artificer. Her player is a Thinker.
Khansi, a Warforged Assassin. Its player is a hard-core Instigator.
Volk, a Goliath Barbarian. His player is probably closest to Slayer, with Instigator tendancies.
Theren, an Elf Druid. His player leans Storyteller.

Our previous game was Scales of War, and we played it for a year and a half, through to the end of the Heroic tier. The players enjoyed it a lot, but I got bored. Most of them were looking forward to playing Paragon tier, so they were a bit disappointed about the idea of starting a new campaign. We compromised by agreeing to come back and play the highlights from SoW as a pure beer-and-pretzles beat-em-up. It should make a nice break from the intensity of WotBS.

For most of the players, my game is their first significant RPG experience. SoW is a combat-centric game with minimal roleplaying, so the roleplaying aspects of WotBS are new to most of them. SoW is also heavily railroaded, so choices with meaningful results are pretty foreign as well.