Turning a Touch Spell into a Cone!

strongbow

First Post
By using Reach Spell to turn a touch spell into a ray, and then using Ray Coning (Dragon Annual Number 5, +2 spell slots, Allows reflex save, and turns a ray into a 30 ft cone), a caster can turn a touch spell into a cone.

Beyond the simple utility of it all (Cone of 3.5 Identify, Pile that treasure up!), I have some questions.

Would the damage from a Cone of Vampiric Touch stack, just as it would from a Reach-Chained Vampiric Touch? With the use of insects and other 1 HP creatures, a cone of stacking HP is a bit ridiculous.

Furthermore, How do you adjudicate things like a Touch-Ray-Cone of Invisibility Sphere? Who/What is the center? Are my players cheese monkeys for even trying this? These are the questions.

Comments and answers welcome, but no flames please

Edited for dyslexia
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

This depens entirely on how you rule the 'meta-magic' dosn't stack, each feat alters the base spell rule.

On one hand it's stupid. It means that e when you cast an extended silent fireball you still need to use verbal components if you send it beyond the standard range:confused:

On the other hand it's possibly intended to disallow this sort of thing.
 
Last edited:




Cone of Harm, if allowed would be an epic level spell (6+2+2 = 10) and allow a reflex save to completely avoid its effect, as well as the standard Fort save.
 

Given that Chain Spell from T&B is +3 spell levels, and that it only passes on ½ the damage to the secondary targets, within 30 ft, Ray Conning seems overpowered at +2 spell levels.

Which is probably why we never saw it reprinted in any of the splat books.

No, I wouldn't let the Coned Reach Vampiric Touch 7th level spell out-cure the 8th level Chained Reach Vampiric Touch spell.

On one hand the cone has a reflex save for no damage. The chained variant does not, but you still need to make a ranged touch attack.

As to how much hp are channelled back into the caster, I think I'd need to think over that one a while.
 



In my campaign I can chain a ray. I guess its a "I'm dm and the player won't even realize i'm breaking the rules" rule.

But you can't stack meta magic in 3.5 can you? SO this wouldn't work unless in 3.0 ?
 

Remove ads

Top