Twin Panthers (Shaman Encounter 1) Question

Hellzon

First Post
I'm about to change out Ironbreaker Claws for Twin Panthers for my Shaman. The hit and effect lines are:

Hit: 1d8+Wis mod damage. Until the end of you next turn, you and your allies have combat advantage when making melee attacks against any enemy adjacent to your spirit companion.
Effect: Make the attack one more time against the same target or a different one.

Now the million dollar question: Does the CA granting still apply if you miss with the first attack but hit with the second?
(For that matter, I get CA for the second attack if I hit with the first one and attack the same guy again, right? Or does the power have to finish resolving?)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Now the million dollar question: Does the CA granting still apply if you miss with the first attack but hit with the second?
Yes. You apply the entire hit line each time you hit with a power.

(For that matter, I get CA for the second attack if I hit with the first one and attack the same guy again, right? Or does the power have to finish resolving?)
Ah, you caught me there. Twin Panthers is a Ranged power, but it gives CA to melee attacks.
 

Ah, you caught me there. Twin Panthers is a Ranged power, but it gives CA to melee attacks.

Oh snap, I was thinking of all the other Shaman powers, which tend to be Melee Spirit and thus qualify. Good catch.
Edit: And thanks. :)
 
Last edited:

I think the more general answer to the second question would be that IN GENERAL once a hit line is applied any effects it has are in play from that moment on. So if hypothetically Twin Panthers was melee, then yeah, the second attack could benefit from CA created by the first attack hitting. The game doesn't really handle simultaneous separate attacks (all sorts of weird rules loopholes will show up if you try to assume 2 different attacks are happening in parallel).
 

Remove ads

Top