Two-handed weapons with Whirling Blade


log in or register to remove this ad


silentspace said:
Just wondering, can two-handed weapons be used with Whirling Blade?


Assuming your DM allows casting spells with somatic components while weilding a 2 handed weapon (I do, but there's lots of debate as to wether that's legal under RAW, and the somatic weaponry feat in complete mage seems to argue against it) then yes.
 

Mort said:
Assuming your DM allows casting spells with somatic components while weilding a 2 handed weapon (I do, but there's lots of debate as to wether that's legal under RAW, and the somatic weaponry feat in complete mage seems to argue against it) then yes.

I would not allow it. Spellcasters (especially higher level) have too much going for them to be generous with things intended to restrict them a little.
 

What about the requirement that it takes a full-round action to throw a two-handed weapon? That takes longer than it takes to cast the spell. Or perhaps you don't really throw the weapon, it just flies out of your hand?
 

silentspace said:
What about the requirement that it takes a full-round action to throw a two-handed weapon? That takes longer than it takes to cast the spell. Or perhaps you don't really throw the weapon, it just flies out of your hand?

Seems best to rule that the spell takes care of the logistics. Otherwise, non-throwing weapons also take a -4 to hit.
 


Artoomis said:
I would not allow it. Spellcasters (especially higher level) have too much going for them to be generous with things intended to restrict them a little.

Okay, the iconic weapon, the staff, you would not allow the wizard to cast while holding itwith one of his hands?
 

wildstarsreach said:
Okay, the iconic weapon, the staff, you would not allow the wizard to cast while holding itwith one of his hands?

Of course he can. That does not mean he gets an AoO, though. I do not like the whole shift-your-grip-twice-in-a-round thing so you can cast spells AND use the staff as a weapon.

I'd certainly allow one shifting of the grip. So you could use the staff as a weapon OR cast a spell, but not both in the same round. Seems perfectly reasonable.

You need a hand free to cast a spell (with somatic components). A staff is a two-handed weapon. Use it as a weapon and you cannot ALSO cast a spell. Cast a spell and you cannot ALSO use it as a weapon. It's a game balance thing, really.

But let's not have that whole discussion here and de-rail this one, okay?

edit: Whether one allows it or not is not a "rules" thing as the rules allow free actions limited by what the DM thinks is reasonable so, by the rules, this would be a DM call.
 
Last edited:

Artoomis said:
Of course he can. That does not mean he gets an AoO, though. I do not like the whole shift-your-grip-twice-in-a-round thing so you can cast spells AND use the staff as a weapon.

I'd certainly allow one shifting of the grip. So you could use the staff as a weapon OR cast a spell, but not both in the same round. Seems perfectly reasonable.

You need a hand free to cast a spell (with somatic components). A staff is a two-handed weapon. Use it as a weapon and you cannot ALSO cast a spell. Cast a spell and you cannot ALSO use it as a weapon. It's a game balance thing, really.

But let's not have that whole discussion here and de-rail this one, okay?

edit: Whether one allows it or not is not a "rules" thing as the rules allow free actions limited by what the DM thinks is reasonable so, by the rules, this would be a DM call.

What's the FAQ ruling on this?
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top