Artoomis
First Post
wildstarsreach said:What's the FAQ ruling on this?
Why not answer your own question? Surely you can read the FAQ as well as I?
wildstarsreach said:What's the FAQ ruling on this?
wildstarsreach said:What's the FAQ ruling on this?
Artoomis said:Why not answer your own question? Surely you can read the FAQ as well as I?
wildstarsreach said:balances it for a fraction of a round to do somatic components
wildstarsreach said:You are making a ruling that in your games XXXX. Are you making that based on FAQ or just your opinion? At best, a wizard who has a staff would get 1d6+2 damage which is neglible. Now if you had an Eldrich Knight that had a greatsword. Damage could be problematic. He could begin to approach fighter damage potential. But again, he holds the weapon with 2 hands, balances it for a fraction of a round to do somatic components, holds the weapon again. Why not? Nothing in the FAQ disputes my interpretation. Where does the FAQ support yours?
Gaiden said:Correct me if I am wrong, but isn't changing a grips a free action according to RAW?
srd said:Free Action
Free actions consume a very small amount of time and effort. You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally. However, there are reasonable limits on what you can really do for free.
srd said:Drawing a weapon so that you can use it in combat, or putting it away so that you have a free hand, requires a move action.
Artoomis said:The key is to decide what sort of action "switching grips" or "readying a weapon for combat" is in your game - the rules do not specify this.
Using a move action is fine. Thus you could cast a spell and NOT move and still be able to make an AoO.
Or you could cast a spell and move and NOT take an AoO.
Seems somewhat reasonable.
Or it could be any of several other choices for an action.
It's a DM call with no firm rules support no matter which way you go. Emphasis on "DM's call."