D&D 5E Two New D&D Books Revealed: Feywild & Strixhaven Mage School

Amazon has revealed the next two D&D hardcovers! The Wild Beyond the Witchlight is a feywild adventure due in September, and Curriculum of Chaos is a Magic: the Gathering setting of Strixhaven, which looks like a Harry Potter-esque mage school, set for November.

The Wild Beyond the Witchlight is D&D's next big adventure storyline that brings the wicked whimsy of the Feywild to fifth edition for the first time.

The recent Unearthed Arcana, Folk of the Feywild, contained the fairy, hobgoblin of the Feywild, owlfolk, and rabbitfolk. UA is usually a good preview of what's in upcoming D&D books.


Curriculum of Chaos is an upcoming D&D release set in the Magic: The Gathering world of Strixhaven -- a brand new MtG set only just launched.

Strixhaven is a school of mages on the plane of Arcavios, an elite university with five rival colleges founded by dragons: Silverquill (eloquence), Prismari (elemental arts), Witherbloom (life and death), Lorehold (archaeomancy), and Quandrix (numeromancy). You can read more about the M:tG set here.

Screen Shot 2021-06-05 at 8.43.56 PM.png

You will be able to tune into WotC's streamed event D&D Live on July 16 and 17 for details on both, including new character options, monsters, mechanics, story hooks, and more!

Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

log in or register to remove this ad


He Mage
As someone who studies, plants, grows, cuts, and manages trees for a living, I can assure you that either (a) you're oversimplifying the I-Ching's understanding of Tree Motion, or (b) The I-Ching is wrong about Tree Motion.

Trees expand outward but they also compress inward. They grow but they also retrench. They pump air and water and nutrients from dying lifeforms in the the soil through their vessels using pressurized siphons. They compress, tense, and torque against loading forces yet are flexible and malleable to regrow. They seal injuries of decay but have powerful chemical healing functions as well. They are far more complicated than people give them credit.

Remember, these are elemental motions. They are supposed to be simple.

• Fire: goes up
• Water: goes down
• Tree: expands outward, encompassing
• Metal: contracts inward, separating
• Soil: motionless

Complex motions combine various elements.

Urriak Uruk

Gaming is fun, and fun is for everyone
Oh! and the back cover from Amazon!
View attachment 137950

Couple things;

  • Mister Witch and Mister Light I assume are the shadar-kai that traded with Isolde.
  • The Hourglass Coven firsts makes me think of hags (because coven) but the hourglass is an interesting choice in name.
  • Level 1-8 is a weird range... not as low as 1-5 like Waterdeep, but much even shorter than the typical 10+ of most adventure books.
  • Domain of Delight vs. Domain of Dread? I wonder if people are trapped in Prismeer as well, and what other Domains of Delight could exist.


Furthermore, the text saying “touches down on your world” might suggest that the adventure is not expressly/by default linked to or beginning in the Forgotten Realms


The 5e adventures that went from 1-15, while mostly quite good (IMO), they had a LOT of filler to get them to go that long. I MUCH prefer the choice to go from 1-8. In particular if the books have a lot of choices on where to go that might make the adventure replayable in a few years, and different choices lead to different experiences. That sort of thing. Not to mention, including more stuff (like this one will most likely) that allow people to use the setting/locations without necessarily running the adventure.


Is the Feywild being it's own Plane something new or is that way from 4th edition, which I never played.
There's been references to a Plane of Faerie since at least AD&D. 3E was the first to try and codify it as a Thing rather than 'oh i guess this exists', and then 4E came along and went hard on it and gave us the modern Feywild

Remove ads

Remove ads


Remove ads

Upcoming Releases