Two Quick (an unrelated) Questions

Remathilis

Legend
These both came up in the last game we played...

1.) Does a Lycanthrope's natural attacks in hybrid form count as silver for purposes of beating DR (or, can two werewolves actually hurt each other?) Does the same hold true any creature with naturally occurring DR?

2.) Can cleric's use higher level domain slots to prepare multiple domain spells (such as prepping two copies of your first level domain slots in your first and second level spell slots?) and can you use higher level domain slots to meta-magic your domain spells (such as empowering it as a domain spell with a domain slot +2 levels higher?)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

1/ DR X/Magic, X/Epic, and X/[Alignment] allow you to overcome the same type of DR. Silver, however, does not. (See Damage Reduction in the Monster Manual, or the entry for any monster with DR - if it's Magic, it says "The creature's natural weapons are treated blah blah", but if it's Silver, it doesn't.

2/ Strictly? With access to two domain spells at a given spell level, a cleric prepares one or the other each day in his domain spell slot. No.

I allow it, though. There's a note in either the FAQ or RotG (I'll try to find it) which says something similar - strictly not allowed, but not unreasonable to allow it.

Edit - Here we go.

A cleric's spell slot can hold a spell of its level or of a lower level.

A cleric can prepare a lower-level spell in a higher-level slot, just as any other spellcaster can. If the cleric's Wisdom score won't allow her to prepare spells in her higher-level slots, she still can use those slots for lower-level slots. For example, a 9th-level cleric has 4th-level spell slots available. If the cleric has a Wisdom score of only 13, however, she can prepare and cast up to 3rd-level spells only. She can prepare spells of 3rd level or lower in her otherwise unusable 4th-level spell slots. Although the text on page 32 in the Player's Handbook seems to imply that a domain spell slot can hold a spell of its own level only, there's no good reason to bar a cleric from preparing a lower-level spell from one of her domains for that slot.


-Hyp.
 
Last edited:

there's no good reason to bar a cleric from preparing a lower-level spell from one of her domains for that slot.
There is a very good reason! Many of those domain spells are very powerful and otherwise unavailable to the cleric. One per customer per day is more than enough for several of those non cleric spells.

I allow it as well though. Just mentioning there is a reason.
 

frankthedm said:
There is a very good reason! Many of those domain spells are very powerful and otherwise unavailable to the cleric. One per customer per day is more than enough for several of those non cleric spells.

I allow it as well though. Just mentioning there is a reason.

Thats kinda what my DM thought, esp. with having the Time domain and quickening True Strike or using my higher-level slots for haste...
 

Remathilis said:
Thats kinda what my DM thought, esp. with having the Time domain and quickening True Strike or using my higher-level slots for haste...
Well there you go! He saw a problem and used the rules to fix it.
 

Hypersmurf said:
1/ DR X/Magic, X/Epic, and X/[Alignment] allow you to overcome the same type of DR. Silver, however, does not. (See Damage Reduction in the Monster Manual, or the entry for any monster with DR - if it's Magic, it says "The creature's natural weapons are treated blah blah", but if it's Silver, it doesn't.

This is correct for DR X/Magic and X/Epic, but it is not the case for alignment based DR. Weapons wielded by creatures with an alignment subtype count as that alignment for overcoming DR, and most creatures with an alignment subtype also have an opposed alignment DR, but merely having alignment based DR does not give any ability to penetrate the DR of others.

Righteous Might doesn't need any extra help. ;)
 

Remathilis said:
... can you use higher level domain slots to meta-magic your domain spells (such as empowering it as a domain spell with a domain slot +2 levels higher?)

So the answer to this unclear from RAW - Ask your current DM for his view?
 


boolean said:
This is correct for DR X/Magic and X/Epic, but it is not the case for alignment based DR. Weapons wielded by creatures with an alignment subtype count as that alignment for overcoming DR, and most creatures with an alignment subtype also have an opposed alignment DR, but merely having alignment based DR does not give any ability to penetrate the DR of others.

Righteous Might doesn't need any extra help. ;)

Actually, natural weapons do count for overcoming DR that is the same as yours, or opposite, in the case of alignment. Lycanthropes natural weapons overcome DR/silver, just as Golems' slams overcome DR/adamantine, while a wererat with a rapier doesn't overcome DR/silver, unless the rapier is silver itself.
 

Kmart Kommando said:
Actually, natural weapons do count for overcoming DR that is the same as yours, or opposite, in the case of alignment.
Do you have a citation for that? Because I am pretty sure that boolean and (eventually) Hyp have it right, actually.


glass.
 

Remove ads

Top