two weapon fighting without off hand?


log in or register to remove this ad

Ah, so he can freely use just his leftie if he wants to? So the off-hand property is only relevant if you want to get some benefits from wielding two weapons at once?
I would assume so, just like you could hold your two handed weapon in one hand while you throw a javelin in the other? just like 3rd ed?
 

I think the rules are vague enough that a DM could rule that a weapon in a characters off hand doesn't qualify as being there for purposes of Two Weapon Fighting, Two Weapon Defense and Two Weapon Flurry unless it has the Off Hand property, or unless the character is a twin blade ranger.

I also thought for sure I had seen a penalty for off hand attacks in the PHB. BUt I have since looked through again and can't find anything at all, except for within the Two Weapon Flurry text.
 

Remove ads

Top