jmucchiello said:The feat reads the exact same way in 3.0. All the quotes above are found in the 3.0 text as well as the 3.5 text. This is not a 3.0 vs 3.5 question. And this isn't a change. How do you know based on reading the rules, that this is not the way it's supposed to be? Just because you've never seen it done that way doesn't mean this isn't the correct way to do it.
Ever hear of reading the FAQ? Main FAQ [3.0] v 1/30/2003; I've highlit the critical portion in red:
Page 124 of the Player’s Handbook says you can decide whether to take the normal attack action or the full attack action depending on how the first attack turns out. Suppose I have the Rapid Shot feat, which allows me an extra ranged attack if I take -2 penalty on every attack I make during my turn. Suppose I’m holding a weapon in each
hand, so that I can get an extra attack with the second weapon provided I take some penalties to all my attacks. Can I use the attack action to make one attack at no penalty at all, and then decide to use Rapid Shot or an off-hand weapon and take penalties only to the attacks I make after I’ve decided to use full attack?
No. If you choose to use Rapid Shot or to fight with two weapons, you must choose the full attack action before you make any attack rolls.
You can indeed "wait to see how your first attack turns out," before deciding between the attack and full attack action, ut if you do, you can’t take any option that would affect that first, unmodified, attack roll.
This is a clear, albeit implicit, statement that one must use the Full Attack action to benefit form Two-Weapon fighting. And it took me all of three minutes to find it.
The rule is simple: to make more than one attack, you must use the full attack action. Period.