Unarmed combatant/2 weapon defense

pathfinderq1

First Post
Does having the Two-Weapon Defense feat help when using the monk Unarmed combatant feature? It says that it makes unarmed strike a weapon in the unarmed category, but also says you must have a hand free to use it. Are you considered to have a weapon in hand (for TWF/TWD) or not? For comparison, the gnoll Clawfighter feat specifically says you are considered to have a weapon in each hand if you are holding nothing.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

My impulse is to say no... but I'm not very sure why.

So, reading the wording of the feat and class feature, it sounds to me like the RAI simply aim to allow monks to use powers with the weapon keyword while unarmed, or have the choice to use weapons. However, when looking at the RAW, I see no direct reason you -couldn't- have this work. Unless classifying the unarmed strike as in the unarmed category excludes it (but that would also exclude spike gauntlets. Hmm).

I'd say it comes down to DM preference. If a player could justify it reasonably, I'd allow it. If a player seemed to be min-maxing (which some DM's allow but I'm not fond of) I'd have to think twice, and probably not allow it. Sorry I couldn't be more directly helpful.
 

Monk unarmed strike has the off-hand property, if it wasn't meant to be welded in the 'off-hand' it shouldn't have that, therefore for monk unarmed strike can supplement a weapon in one hand (say a short sword) for the purposes of dual wielding. (that is to say, I think it is a logical argument and some [not all] DMs may allow it)

However, if you have no weapon, how many 'monk unarmed strikes' do you have? It states that to use it you need a free hand. If you have two free hands do you have two 'monk strikes'? It isn't clear. I think that since you have already invested in monk unarmed strike it is not unwarranted to let you count as dual wielding, you are still spending feats to get any benefit out of it, and only monks can do it, so its not every joe with no weapons doing this (normal unarmed strike is not off hand, therefore you can't dual wield it.....unless you're a ranger or whirling barbarian ;) ).

Bottom line: Monk unarmed strike requires a 'price' to be paid to obtain, and it isn't unreasonable for that 'price' to pay for dual wielding as well. Still, its a judgement call for the DM, as nothing is explicit.
 

Remove ads

Top