If I'm attacking unarmed, while holding the charge of a Touch spell, why I should I not be able to:
a) deliver unarmed damage and discharge the spell on a successful to-hit roll, or
b) discharge the spell, but not deliever damage, if my to-hit roll was not enough to hit him normally, but good enough to hit his Touch AC.
Bottom line: I think an Unarmed Strike that misses your opponent's AC but still hits his Touch AC should deliver a Touch Spell attack (if you're holding the charge). Convince me otherwise, please.
FYI - the Sage ruled otherwise. Here's the copy and paste:
QUESTION: Can a monk or other character use an unarmed strike
to deliver a spell with touch range? If so, how do you
resolve the attack?
SAGE: Yes, you can use an unarmed strike to deliver a touch
spell. Since casting a spell is a standard action, you
usually have to wait until your next turn to make the
unarmed attack. Resolve the unarmed attack exactly the
same way you resolve any other unarmed strike. The
attacker has to beat the defender's Armor Class with all
adjustments, including armor and shield, added in. (The
attacker is trying to land a damaging blow, not just touch
the opponent.) If the attacker doesn't have the Improved
Unarmed Strike feat, the attack draws an attack of
opportunity. (Striking for damage exposes the attacker to
more risk than merely touching the opponent to deliver a
spell.) If the attack is a hit, the attacker deals unarmed
damage and discharges the spell. If the attack is a miss,
the attacker is still holding the charge.
a) deliver unarmed damage and discharge the spell on a successful to-hit roll, or
b) discharge the spell, but not deliever damage, if my to-hit roll was not enough to hit him normally, but good enough to hit his Touch AC.
Bottom line: I think an Unarmed Strike that misses your opponent's AC but still hits his Touch AC should deliver a Touch Spell attack (if you're holding the charge). Convince me otherwise, please.
FYI - the Sage ruled otherwise. Here's the copy and paste:
QUESTION: Can a monk or other character use an unarmed strike
to deliver a spell with touch range? If so, how do you
resolve the attack?
SAGE: Yes, you can use an unarmed strike to deliver a touch
spell. Since casting a spell is a standard action, you
usually have to wait until your next turn to make the
unarmed attack. Resolve the unarmed attack exactly the
same way you resolve any other unarmed strike. The
attacker has to beat the defender's Armor Class with all
adjustments, including armor and shield, added in. (The
attacker is trying to land a damaging blow, not just touch
the opponent.) If the attacker doesn't have the Improved
Unarmed Strike feat, the attack draws an attack of
opportunity. (Striking for damage exposes the attacker to
more risk than merely touching the opponent to deliver a
spell.) If the attack is a hit, the attacker deals unarmed
damage and discharges the spell. If the attack is a miss,
the attacker is still holding the charge.