Useless Invoker Ritual

RyvenCedrylle

First Post
So the Invoker begins at level 1 with a ritual it can't use until level 4.. is that right? It wasn't shifted down in some errata was it? That's a little goofy.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I assumed that the specific rule, you can cast it once per day without using components, overruled the general rule of needing to meet the requirements to cast it.
 

I assumed that the specific rule, you can cast it once per day without using components, overruled the general rule of needing to meet the requirements to cast it.

It could be argued that the level requirement is for mastering the ritual, not for performing it. Hence, since the invoker already has Hands of Fate mastered, he can use it (once per day for free, and more often by expending components).
 

Level requirements don't exist for -using- rituals. Scrolls don't care about level. Level requirements only exist for mastering rituals.

The class feature gives you free mastery of this ritual, it therefore is an explicit exception to the rules of mastery.

Thusly, not a useless class feature.
 

Just to be perfectly clear:


From the PHB (the original, not PH2), page 298


If you gained a ritual by creating its book yourself or by obtaining it as a class feature, you have already mastered it.)



And, as noted above, there is no level requirement to use a ritual. The level requirement is to master a ritual (noted under 'Mastering a Ritual" or to use a ritual from a book. Since you have already mastered the ritual, you are exempt from the level requirement.


Carl
 
Last edited:



Remove ads

Top