Using a buckler


log in or register to remove this ad

Artoomis said:

This implies that you may use them grappling (move into the same square). The line about using them as a weapon implies thta you need to use your arms (thus have a hand free) because else how would you attack?

You do not need your hands free to grapple. The description specifically states you and wield them as an off-hand weapon. This implies you can use a greatsword and armor spikes.
 

Armor Spikes

Artoomis said:
Spiked armor is primarily for grappling. It's fairly obvious, isn't it, that you need a free hand to attack as a melee weapon because otherwise you'd have to be in your opponent's square to reach them.

No, not to me. Spiked Gauntlets, you can spat someone five feet away. Spiked boots, same. Spiked helmet, headbutt. Spiked Knee-cops, very painful kneeing. Elbow spikes, painful forearm smashes. Shoulder spikes, five foot forward-step-and-rake. Pectoral spikes, "Iron Maiden" maneuvers. None but the gauntlets require hands, and even the gauntleted hand can be holding something else. None but the "Iron Maiden" and (perhaps) the shoulder spikes require being in the same square, any more than dagger attacks do.
 

Not the point...

splitinfinitude said:
Hyp's right. The monk example simply applies twf to a monk.

Otherwise, you could have an infinite (well, large) number of attacks - don't limit yourself to knees, etc. I would have:

Spiked armor
Bladed kneecaps
Bladed elbows
Bladed tootsies
Spiked helmet
etc.

A lot of these stupid things were available in 2E. Lame.

That's not the point... Ambidexterity/Two-Weapon Fighting only allows ONE extra "off-hand" attack (which need not be with a hand) per round... Regardless of how many hands you may have... That's why there's Multidexterity in the MM for Mariliths, Xill, etc.

So, you have a bow and two spiked gauntlets, and one attack/round, you get TWO attacks/round, with major penalties to both. You have Ambi. & TWF, you get two @ -2. You add spiked armor & helmet, bladed boots and cops, you STILL get only one additional attack/round...

Besides, the question was about AsoO (Attacks of Opportunity), where you only get one to a customer, Combat Reflexes notwithstanding.
 

Re: Not the point...

Besides, the question was about AsoO (Attacks of Opportunity), where you only get one to a customer, Combat Reflexes notwithstanding.

FAQ clarifies, though - if you're wielding a bow, you don't threaten an area.

Spiked Gauntlets or IUS notwithstanding.

If you take a free action at the end of your round to change from wielding the bow to holding the bow (per the longspear FAQ entry), then you can indeed threaten with a spiked gauntlet. If an OotBI does that, though, he's no longer wielding his bow and cannot make use of his Free Attack class ability.

And even if you're wearing spiked gauntlets, if you go to shoot someone who threatens you, and they take an AoO that would normally provoke an AoO - trying to grapple, for example - then since you're wielding a bow, you do not threaten an area, even with your spiked gauntlets, and cannot take the AoO their grapple attempt provokes.

-Hyp.
 


Btw.... I wanna see some guy shooting a bow with any armoured gauntlet, let alone a spiked one

I fail to see where any difficulty would lie. Sure if you're not proficient in the armor or spiked gauntlet's use it could be a problem.. but for armor, if you're not proficient you're taking the ACP to all your attack rolls anyhow.

So it all works out.

^_^
 

Darklone said:
Btw.... I wanna see some guy shooting a bow with any armoured gauntlet, let alone a spiked one ;)

This is D&D, not history.

By the way, just because your fingers are covered in a gauntlet doesn't mean you can't shoot. There are archery finger guards.
 

Yeah sure, this IS D&D. But I wouldn't allow it either.

Friend of mine cut his bowstring with a blade on his forearm (though the blade was blunted...). Since I assume he's proficient in bow use as well as with that blade... ;)
 

KaeYoss said:


Of course I would. In one hand, he uses a thrown weapon, in the other, a melee weapon. Since a dagger is one-handed, that tactic works. But switching the dagger from "melee-position" to "throwing position" is the same as drawing a weapon.



Some knives are thrown with a grip on the blade, and some with a grip on the handle. Just a comment from a knife-thrower. Not to argue this point, since one could use a hand axe in the same example, and they are always thrown with a handle grip.

This Buckler thread is giving me a headache....I like the idea of a Buckler from a visual point, but they do seem a bit muddled as far as the rules for their use go. Hopefully 3.5 will clear it up.
 

Remove ads

Top