D&D 5E (2024) Using Action Surge to cast spells in 2024

What I want to know, is what the logic is for not allowing Bonus Actions to be readied. It seems to me that if you can cast it on your turn, you should be able to ready it to cast later. Why did they exclude Bonus Actions from the Ready Action?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

What I did was not in any way bad faith. I was showing how the two ways to get around RAI are the same, and therefore BOTH are bad faith. People can make examples like that without arguing in bad faith.

You COULD set the trigger to be see an enemy and avoid all the negatives. Bad faith.
You COULD try to get around the restriction on casting two spells with action surge by Readying an Action. Bad faith.

Both are cases of trying to get around restrictions.
That’s not what bad faith means.
 

That’s not what bad faith means.
Yes it is. Trying to get around what is intended is bad faith playing.

Edit: first, Bad Faith in arguing requires a legitimate attempt to pretend you have a different view than you do, which I did not do. Showing something to make a point is not pretending to hold that view. Second, look up what Bad Faith in RPGs is.
 

With repect to "Magic action" this would be the only place they missed it then. They use that term over and over and over again even when it is obvious, it would be very peculiar to leave it out here considering the way the rest of the books are written.
No. Not really. Not peculiar. Because in most cases it does not matter. I guess it was an oversight.

Your opinion is different. But I am not convinced by your reasoning either.
 

What I want to know, is what the logic is for not allowing Bonus Actions to be readied. It seems to me that if you can cast it on your turn, you should be able to ready it to cast later. Why did they exclude Bonus Actions from the Ready Action?
That is a good question, especially since, outside of spells, most things that you can use your bonus action for have restrictions on when they can be used anyways, like bonus action attacks typically require you to use the Attack action. There had to be some interaction they were worried about.

As an aside, you could Ready a Minor Action in 4e, so they weren't worried about any shenanigans then. I think it has to do with spellcasting, as I can't think of any bonus action that could be a problem, at least by 2014 rules. But maybe they didn't want Readied Healing Words or something?

-

Beyond Action Surge, has anyone weighed in yet on a Sorcerer using their bonus action to cast a Quickened Spell, then Readying a 1 action Spell to be used off-turn yet to avoid the "no more than one levelled spell per turn" clause? If Readying a Spell = using the Magic Action, then this should be disallowed too, right, since you start casting the spell when you Ready?

EDIT: apparently asked and answered two years ago in a thread I posted in, lol.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top