D&D 5E (2024) Using Action Surge to cast spells in 2024

Actually nothing at all in the text implies you take the Magic action at all when you Ready a spell or that you take a second action at the same time you Ready any action.

Moreover, then we go back to this:

From the PHB: "Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger"
You bolded the wrong portion. The important part is "you choose the action you will take" which is not the ready action. You cannot ready, ready.
You are releasing the energy in response to the trigger when you Ready a spell, you are not taking the Magic action in response to the trigger.
The ready action only preps a different action for use later, except for spells which use the magic action now.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I get what you are saying, but several of them would not function right if you waited until the energy is released. In specific, Battle Magic would be significantly changed. Expert Divination and Free Casting make the most sense to implement when you spend the slot (which is on your turn).
It's not when you spend the slot. It's when you cast the spell. Ready would trigger the abilities during your turn, and then the slot is lost later in the round.
 

I agree .... I think .... you can't counterspell someone who Ready a spell unless you can see them when they do it (and cast the spell).
I can't see who you are talking to, but any counterspell would happen during your turn when you cast the spell as normal. If it's not counterspelled then, it can't be done because releasing the energy is not a part of casting the spell.
 

I get what you are saying, but several of them would not function right if you waited until the energy is released. In specific, Battle Magic would be significantly changed. Expert Divination and Free Casting make the most sense to implement when you spend the slot (which is on your turn).
That's why I think it could be different for different of these abilities. Like @UngeheuerLich posted.
 


You bolded the wrong portion. The important part is "you choose the action you will take" which is not the ready action. You cannot ready, ready.

Like I said many times now, over and over again, the action is "release the energy" I've told you this before.

Why do you keep saying I am trying to Ready Ready? I am not. I am Readying a spell and as per the description the action you take in response to the trigger is to "release the energy".

Let me say this so it is 100% clear - you can not Ready the Ready action. So please don't ever again on this thread claim that I am saying you can Ready the Ready action.

The ready action only preps a different action for use later,

If you are going to argue semantics than be precise and use the correct wording from the PHB:

"You take the Ready action to wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you take this action on your turn, which lets you act by taking a Reaction before the start of your next turn."

This is what the Ready action does. The rest of the section describes how it does it mechanically and the response you take to the trigger with a Reaction is clearly "release the energy". The Magic action is not mentioned once in the entire section on Ready.
 
Last edited:


Like I said many times now, over and over again, the action is "release the energy" I've told you this before.
It can't be. You didn't declare release of energy as your later action. You declared casting a spell as your action.
"You take the Ready action to wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you take this action on your turn, which lets you act by taking a Reaction before the start of your next turn."

This is what the Ready action does. The rest of the section describes how it does it mechanically and the response you take to the trigger with a Reaction is clearly "release the energy". The Magic action is not mentioned once in the entire section on Ready.
The reaction is the action you would have taken on your turn. Release energy is not your action, so it cannot be your reaction. All that language above means is that when it's time to react, you act as you you would have on your turn. So it would be Magic Action to cast a spell or use a magic item. There are special rules for that, which is that if you cast a spell, you cast the spell on your turn "as normal."
 


It can't be. You didn't declare release of energy as your later action. You declared casting a spell as your action.

Why isn't it?

You Ready a spell and you choose a trigger to release the energy. "release the energy" is the action you use with your reaction; if you choose to when the trigger occurs, and not if you don't choose to when the trigger occurs or if the trigger doesn't occur before your next turn.

This is clear in the rules.

Moreover you do not have to use your reaction if you Ready, but you do have to cast a spell if you Ready a spell (whether you use your reaction to release the energy or not).


The reaction is the action you would have taken on your turn.

No it isn't and this is clearly wrong. You take the reaction in response to a trigger which presumably has not even happened on your turn. The action you take on your turn is Ready.

From the PHB:

"You take the Ready action to wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you take this action on your turn, which lets you act by taking a Reaction before the start of your next turn.

First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your Reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger ...

When the trigger occurs, you can either take your Reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger."



Release energy is not your action, so it cannot be your reaction.

It is the action you take in response to the trigger. Why isn't it?

Why do you think this is not the action you take in response to the trigger when it clearly says it is in the description:

" .... but hold its energy, which you release with your Reaction when the trigger occurs."
Notice this wording is all in the same section:

....you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger .... which you release with your Reaction when the trigger occurs.

Seems pretty clear cut to me!

All that language above means is that when it's time to react, you act as you you would have on your turn.

NO. You take an action in response to the trigger, which is fundamentally different than acting on your turn.

You are not delaying your turn you are preparing to take a specific action in response to a trigger and you Ready a spell that action you are preparing to take MUST be to release the energy.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top